Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

The Last Wilderness: A Journey into Silence

Neil Ansell

Write Review

Rated 0

Memoirs

Shortlisted for the 2018 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize, THE LAST WILDERNESS is a hauntingly beautiful memoir on nature and hearing loss, for readers of Macfarlane's THE OLD WAYS or John Lewis-Stempel's THE RUNNING HARE

Neil Ansell's THE LAST WILDERNESS is a mesmerising book on nature and solitude by a writer who has spent his lifetime taking solitary ventures into the wild. For any readers of the author's previous book, DEEP COUNTRY, Robert Macfarlane's THE OLD WAYS or William Atkins THE MOOR.

Shortlisted for the 2018 Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize
Shortlisted for the 2018 Highland Book Prize 'Ansell has the rare skill of combining vividly the intimacy of detail and the astonishing grandeur of this North West coastline of Scotland. Through his keen eyes we look again at the familiar with a sense of wondrous revelation' Madeleine Bunting

'Beautiful...a testimony to reticent courage' Daily Mail
The experience of being in nature alone is here set within the context of a series of walks that Neil Ansell takes into the most remote parts of Britain, the rough bounds in the Scottish Highlands. He illustrates the impact of being alone as part of nature, rather than outside it.

As a counterpoint, Neil Ansell also writes of the changes in the landscape, and how his hearing loss affects his relationship with nature as the calls of the birds he knows so well become silent to him.

Read More Read Less

Neil Ansell

Neil Ansell was an award-winning television journalist with the BBC and a long standing newspaper journalist. He is the author of Deep Country, Deer Island and The Last Wilderness which was shortlisted for the 2018 Wainwright Golden Beer and Highland Book Prizes. He has two daughters and lives in Brighton.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay