Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

Boar Island (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Book 19): A suspenseful mystery of the American wilderness

Nevada Barr

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Fiction, Thriller / suspense

The nineteenth Anna Pigeon mystery is a gripping novel that transports you to the wild and dangerous landscape of Acadia National Park and is sure to appeal to fans of Sue Grafton and Janet Evanovich.

Anna Pigeon, in her career as a National Park Service Ranger, has had to deal with all manner of crimes and misdemeanours, but cyber-bulling and stalking is a new one. The target is Elizabeth, the adopted teenage daughter of her friend Heath Jarrod. Elizabeth is driven to despair by the disgusting rumours spreading online and bullying texts. Until, one day, Heath finds her daughter Elizabeth in the midst of an unsuccessful suicide attempt. And then she calls in the cavalry - her aunt Gwen and her friend Anna Pigeon.

The three adults decide the best thing to do is to remove Elizabeth from the situation and, since Anna is about to start her new post as Acting Chief Ranger at Acadia National Park in Maine, they join her and stay at a house on the cliff of a small island near the park, Boar Island.

But the move doesn't solve the problem. The stalker has followed them. And Heath (a paraplegic) and Elizabeth aren't alone on the otherwise deserted island. At the same time, Anna has barely arrived at Acadia before a brutal murder is committed by a killer uncomfortably close to her.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Boar Island (Anna Pigeon Mysteries, Book 19): A suspenseful mystery of the American wilderness

  • A wonderful, satisfying read - Washington Post

  • Nevada Barr writes with a cool, steady hand about the violence of nature and the cruelty of man - New York Times Book Review

  • Haunting . . . Wonderful . . . Vivid and memorable . . . A book that is just about perfect - Denver Post

  • A real find . . . Kept me reading far into the night - Tony Hillerman

  • A delight . . . A scorching, baffling tale . . . It almost singes you as you turn the pages - Detroit Free Press

  • One scary book . . . Intense - Orlando Sentinel

  • Gripping . . . Harrowing . . . Brilliantly executed - Washington Post

  • Thrilling . . . Remarkable - New York Times Book Review

Read More Read Less

Nevada Barr

Nevada Barr is an award-winning novelist and New York Times bestselling author. She began her career as an actress, during which time she became interested in the environmental movement and started working in the National Parks during the summers - Isle Royale in Michigan, Guadalupe Mountains in Texas, Mesa Verde in Colorado, and then on the Natchez Trace Parkway in Mississippi. Nevada Barr has written a series of mysteries featuring park ranger Anna Pigeon as well as numerous other books, short stories and articles. She currently resides in New Orleans.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay