Your cart


Total AUD


23 October, 2020

Michael Robotham has triumphed at this year’s Crime Writers’ Association Awards, receiving the prestigious and internationally recognised Gold Dagger for best crime novel of the year for his bestselling Good Girl, Bad Girl.

Announced in the early hours of the morning, Robotham’s win cements his place as Australia’s foremost crimewriter. He is one of only a few people in the history of the Gold Dagger, and the only Australian, to have won the international award twice.

When reflecting on his win, Robotham said, ‘What thrills me the most is that since 2007 Australians have won [the Gold Dagger] four times. It reflects how far Australian crime writing has come.’

The Crime Writers’ Association said, ‘Robotham is an absolute master of the impactful opening and draws you
effortlessly in before seamlessly ratcheting up the tension and jeopardy.’

In Good Girl, Bad Girl, intense and fascinating relationships are developed and explored as forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven investigates murder while treating damaged teenager Evie. This unnerving psychological thriller became the top selling fiction title on release in August 2019 and When She Was Good, released in August this year, was equally well received earning the top spot for adult fiction in its release week.

The Gold Dagger rounds off what has been an incredible year for Robotham, with Good Girl, Bad Girl also nominated for the 2020 Edgar Award for Best Novel (presented by the Mystery Writers of America) and shortlisted for the 2020 ABIA General Fiction Book fo the Year Award. The Secrets She Keeps television series was premiered on Channel 10 in April and his Joe O'Loughlin TV series is now in development with a major UK production company.

  • Good Girl, Bad Girl - Michael Robotham

    The girl with no past. Six years ago, Evie Cormac was discovered, filthy and half-starved, hiding in a secret room in the aftermath of a shocking crime. Now approaching adulthood, Evie is damaged, self-destructive and has never revealed her true identity. The boy who survived. Forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven, a man haunted by his own past, is investigating the death of champion figure-skater Jodie Sheehan. When Cyrus is called upon to assess Evie, she threatens to disrupt the case and destroy his ordered life. Because Evie has a unique and dangerous gift - she knows when someone is lying. And nobody is telling the truth.

  • When She Was Good - Michael Robotham

    She has secrets. Six years ago, Evie Cormac was found hiding in a secret room in the aftermath of a brutal murder. But nobody has ever discovered her real name or where she came from, because everybody who tries ends up dead. He needs answers. Forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven believes the truth will set Evie free. Ignoring her warnings, he begins to dig into her past, only to disturb a hornet's nest of corrupt and powerful people, who have been waiting to find Evie - the final witness they have been searching for. Unbeknownst to him, Cyrus is leading them straight to Evie. The truth will not set her free. It will get them killed.

  • The Secrets She Keeps - Michael Robotham

    Everyone has an idea of what their perfect life is. For Agatha, it's Meghan Shaughnessy's ... These two women from vastly different backgrounds have one thing in common - a dangerous secret that could destroy everything they hold dear. Both will risk everything to hide the truth, but their worlds are about to collide in a shocking act that cannot be undone. A compelling psychological thriller that delves deeply into the psyche of the human mind, by internationally bestselling author Michael Robotham.

Related news


Gripping thrillers to stock your beach bag with

Featuring a slew of unreliable characters, twists and turns a-plenty and a growing sense of unease, add one of these impeccably paced thrillers to your summer reading line up!


8 Books That Prove There's A Story For Every Dad

Father's Day is around the corner and we're here to help you sort through all the bookish choices on offer. Here are 8 stories every Dad can enjoy.


Review: Seven Lies

A book review from a certified non-reader.


Loved these shows? Read the book!

If you binged these hit shows, you'll want to read the original book behind the series!


Revelation by Sarah Ferguson and Tony Jones to be published by Hachette Australia

Acclaimed journalists and husband and wife, Sarah Ferguson and Tony Jones, team up for the first time in their multi-award-winning careers to write Revelation, the book behind the groundbreaking ABC TV series.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay