Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan

Write Review

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 2, Interest age: from c 9 years

A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Once every hundred years, the small, forgotten, rural Irish town of Lisahee welcomes The Fairy Festival - a week of celebration where the mysterious and magical 'sidhe' emerge from the hill above the town and take residence alongside their human counterparts for seven days of ancient traditions and games.

Filled with dancing, music, goblin markets and fae-folk, the festival has only one rule: never, ever, say 'the f word' - that's 'fairies' - a rule twelve-year-old Brian unfortunately breaks. When mayhem ensues, it's up to Brian and his friends to avoid the wrath of the King and Queen and help keep the town in one piece.

Read More Read Less

Nigel Quinlan

Nigel Quinlan is an Irish writer born in Limerick in 1970. He has worked in libraries and bookshops all over Ireland before washing up in the midlands village of Cloughjordan with his wife and his two children. He writes stories for local festivals and acts with the local drama group. His first novel, THE MALONEYS' MAGICAL WEATHERBOX is a middle grade fantasy based on a short story he wrote as a teenager while minding his parents' petrol pumps.

Find Nigel's website at http://uglychicken.livejournal.com/