Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press

Kansas in August

Patrick Gale

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment - 'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen Fry

Patrick Gale's KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White 'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen Fry

Musical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary's professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness.

In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Kansas in August

  • Modern, excellent and sympathetic

  • Gale's blend of artifice and realism is not quite like anybody else's - Observer

  • Patrick Gale's novels grip tightly, like swaddling clothes, stunning the reader into a state of lolling, contented absorption. How does he do it? - TLS

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Patrick Gale reads from A Place Called Winter

loading...

Patrick Gale introduces A Place Called Winter

Right
Left
loading...

Patrick Gale reads from A Place Called Winter

loading...

Patrick Gale introduces A Place Called Winter

Right

Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight. He spent his infancy at Wandsworth Prison, which his father governed, then grew up in Winchester before going to Oxford University. He now lives on a farm near Land's End. One of this country's best-loved novelists, his most recent works are A Perfectly Good Man, the Richard and Judy bestseller Notes From An Exhibition, and the Costa-shortlisted A Place Called Winter. His original BBC television drama, Man In An Orange Shirt, was shown to great acclaim in 2017 as part of the BBC's Queer Britannia series, leading viewers around the world to discover his novels.