Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella): A murder mystery from the heart of medieval England

Paul Doherty

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical fiction

An exclusive enovella featuring Sir Hugh Corbett, lead of acclaimed historian Paul Doherty's most popular series.

With Ranulf's life at stake, can Sir Hugh hope to save him?

An exclusive digital novella featuring Sir Hugh Corbett, the medieval sleuth of acclaimed historian Paul Doherty's most popular series. Includes an exclusive extract from the eighteenth Corbett novel Dark Serpent
. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Ellis Peters

It is 1311 and England seethes with unrest. Sir Hugh Corbett, former keeper of the Secret Seal, has been absent from royal service for over six years. Content to live a life more relaxed with his wife and children in the country Corbett has enjoyed his time away from the machinations of court and the secrets men will kill to keep.
But a visit from his new King, Edward II, brings about change. His former protege, Ranulf Atte-Newgate, now Senior Clerk in the Chancery, has been implicated in the death of a young novice, and Edward has made it clear that Corbett must resume his post and solve the case if Ranulf is not to hang for the murder...
Corbett knows that resuming his post will bring him to the fore of Edward's political machinations but with Ranulf's life at stake, does Corbett have any choice but to accept the Seal once more?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'Doherty manages to build in plot twists and misdirection and the whole thing moves at a tremendous pace to the final conclusion'
'A magical author'
'Master storytelling from one of the best authors'

Read More Read Less

Paul Doherty

Paul Doherty was born in Middlesbrough. He studied History at Liverpool and Oxford Universities and obtained a doctorate for his thesis on Edward II and Queen Isabella. He is now headmaster of a school in north-east London and lives with his family in Essex.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay