Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • C & R Crime
  • C & R Crime

The Poacher's Son

Paul Doiron

10 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery

This is the first in a stunningly well reviewed series featuring Game Warden Mike Bowditch set in rural Maine.

Set in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive - his own father.

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living from poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: they are searching for a cop-killer - and Mike's father is their prime suspect.

Now, alienated from the woman he loves and shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand of his father's brutality, but is he capable of murder? Desperate and alone, the only way for Mike to save his father is to find the real killer - which could mean putting everyone he loves into the line of fire...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Poacher's Son

  • An excellent debut - filled with murder, betrayal and a terrific sense of place - C J Box

  • A stunning debut...At its heart this is a tale of bitter betrayal, lost hopes and broken dreams. The book has a tautness that is impossible to forget and which left me close to tears. It is also the first in a series. Its successor, Trespasser, also featuring Bowditch, is on the way. Grab him now. - Daily Mail

  • this is a cleverly written, action-packed debut... Brilliant characterization teamed with stunning descriptions of the area and a plot as winding and convoluted as an old forest trail make for a very satisfying read. - lovereading.com

  • This is a compelling, moving and utterly impressive debut - Andre Dubus III, author of House of Sand and Fog

  • Another crime thriller that paves the way for the arrival of a potentially great series featuring the character of Mike Bowditch... With, at times, lyrical prose and a sense of location that eloquently portrays the natural beauty of backwoods Maine... His grasp of description and the use of natural images is superlative throughout the book...

  • The Poacher's Son is one of the best written debut novels I have read in years. This novel has it all - a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters.

  • Stunning vistas...eye popping scenes - The New York Times Book Review

  • The Poacher's Son is a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer.

  • Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut. . . . Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • One of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all-a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters.

Read More Read Less