Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

Priest of Bones

Peter McLean

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

Fans of Mark Lawrence and Joe Abercrombie will love Tomas Piety, a priest and soldier prepared to play dirty to protect those he loves: a priest of bones.

'Charismatic and very more-ish' - Mark Lawrence, bestselling author of Red Sister

'Sixty-five thousand battle-shocked, trained killers came home to no jobs, no food and the plague. What did Her Majesty think was going to happen?'

Tomas Piety takes his duties seriously: as a soldier, as a priest of Our Lady of Eternal Sorrows and as a leader of men. He has come home from the war to reclaim his family business, to provide for his men and to ensure the horrors of Abingon can never happen in Ellinburg.

But things have changed: his crime empire has been stolen and the people of Ellinburg - his people - have run out of food and hope and places to hide. With his best friend Bloody Anne, his war-damaged brother Jochan and his new gang, the Pious Men, Tomas sets out to reclaim what was his.
And as Tomas is dragged into a web of political intrigue by the sinister Queen's Men, forced to work against the foreign infiltrators lurking in the backstreet taverns, brothels and gambling dens of the Stink, one thing becomes clear.

The war has just begun.

'Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, Blackwing will most appreciate this book' - Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing

Read More Read Less

Praise for Priest of Bones

  • A gripping tale full of action, mystery and death - Rambles, Writings and Amusing Musings on Drake

  • Snarky, pacy and hellishly fun. Don Drake is just the sort of hero, with just the sort of life, to make you feel good about yourself. Dark and delightful, like a naughty treat, this is a rollicking story - Francis Knight, author of Fade to Black on Dominion

  • Peter McLean continues to knock it out of the park. 5 stars - San Franciso Book Review on Damnation

  • The plot is intriguing and the pace is fast. There is plenty of action, in fact, frankly, never a dull moment - The Speculative Herald on Drake

  • This is a cracking book that is part of a cracking series. Highly recommended - The Eloquent Page on Damnation

  • The plot whips along at a cracking pace and there are enough twists and turns to keep any reader more than happy - The Eloquent Page on Dominion

  • A grimy, morally ambiguous tale, packed full of action and ideas. It's blunt and brutal and very compelling - Geek Dad on Drake

Read More Read Less

Peter McLean

Peter McLean was born near London and grew up in the Norwich alternative scene, alternating dingy nightclubs with studying martial arts and practical magic before settling to a career in corporate IT. His first novels, the Burned Man series, are noir urban fantasy.