Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

A Place to Lie

Rebecca Griffiths

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

A creepy, chilling thriller for fans of Sharon Bolton, THE BONES OF YOU and IN A COTTAGE IN A WOOD.

In a dark, dark wood
In Summer 1990, Caroline and Joanna are sent to stay with their great aunt, Dora, to spend their holidays in a sunlit Cotswold village. The Welsh countryside is a welcome change from the trauma they know back home in the city; a chance to make the world a joyful playground again. But in the shadowy woods at the edge of the forest hide secrets that will bring their innocence to a distressing end and make this a summer they will never forget.

There was a dark, dark house
Years later, a shocking act of violence sends Joanna back to Witchwood. In her great aunt's lonely and dilapidating cottage, she will attempt to unearth the secrets of that terrifying summer and come to terms with the haunting effects it has left on her life. But in her quest to find answers, who can she trust? And will she be able to survive the impending danger from those trying to bury the truth?

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Place to Lie

  • Superbly evokes the brooding beauty of the countryside and the menace that can lurk behind its hedges . . . Twisty, atmospheric and elegantly written, it has echoes of Daphne du Maurier with its shivering paranoia, fear and dread, and introduces an exciting new name to "domestic noir" - Daily Mail

  • This is a chilling thriller . . . a brilliantly written book - The Sun

  • I was hooked from page one and downed this book in one lip-smacking, thirst-quenching gulp! For me, The Primrose Path is the best book so far of 2016 - Crimesquad, Fresh Blood of the Month

  • Gripping - Hello, Book of the Week

  • A lusciously atmospheric rural mystery with a delicious backflip of an ending. There were moments that literally gave me shivers. - Alex Marwood, the #1 Kindle bestseller

  • Creepy - Heat

  • A tense, brooding thriller which lays bare the dark currents of rural life; its secrets, lies and the sheer brutality which festers beneath the surface of seemingly idyllic village communities. With its sharp-eyed characterisation, expert plotting, and evocative prose, The Primrose Path marks Rebecca Griffiths as a future star of the domestic noir genre. - Eva Dolan, critically acclaimed author of the Zigic and Ferreira series

  • [A] twisty delight of a tale, brilliantly const

Read More Read Less

Rebecca Griffiths

Rebecca Griffiths grew up in rural mid-Wales and went on to gain a first class honours degree in English Literature. After a successful business career in London, Dublin and Scotland she returned to mid-Wales where she now lives with her husband, a prolific artist, their three vampiric cats as black as night, and pet sheep the size of sofas.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay