Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Child Finder

Rene Denfeld

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery

Naomi finds missing children, that's just what she does. The snow girl is waiting to be found. But this case opens an uncomfortable window onto her past. From the author of THE ENCHANTED, an utterly compelling novel for fans of ROOM and THE LOVELY BONES.

'A darkly luminous story of resilience and the deeply human instinct for survival, for love' A.M. Homes, author of MAY WE BE FORGIVEN

For fans of THE LOVELY BONES, ROOM and THE ENCHANTED

Naomi Cottle finds missing children. When the police have given up their search and an investigation stalls, families call her. She possesses a rare, intuitive sense, born out of her own experience, that allows her to succeed when others have failed.

Young Madison Culver has been missing for three years. She vanished on a family trip to the mountainous forests of Oregon, where they'd gone to cut down a tree for Christmas. Soon after she disappeared, blizzards swept the region and the authorities presumed she died from exposure.

But Naomi knows that Madison isn't dead. As she relentlessly pursues the truth behind Madison's disappearance, shards of a dark dream pierce defences that have protected her for so long. If she finds this child, will Naomi ultimately unlock the secrets of her own life?

WHAT REVIEWERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE CHILD FINDER

'Poetic... Redemptive... Unflinching' Barry Forshaw, FINANCIAL TIMES

'A moving tale of resilience and hope in the face of the worst of humanity' Jon Coates, DAILY EXPRESS

'A compelling blast of cold air from the wintry woods, with elements of a dark fairytale ' Alison Flood, OBSERVER

'The sense of physical and psychological isolation is palpable in this moving exploration of loss, hope and human resilience' Laura Wilson, GUARDIAN

'A truly mesmerising and deeply moving story' HEAT

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE CHILD FINDER:

'A beautifully written, gripping page turner...a book that is worth searching for, bringing home, and welcoming into your family. 5*' Goodreads

'This book is dazzling and heartbreaking. 5*' Goodreads

'A wonderful, extraordinary book. The author speaks from her heart on every page.' 5* Goodreads

'I could not put this book down until the captivating conclusion.' 5* Goodreads

'I finished the book in a day, not wanting to put it down.' 5* Goodreads

'Wow...a page turner, keeping me in all weekend.' 5* Goodreads

'Loved it and will be recommending it to everyone I know.' 5* Goodreads

'The Child Finder is one of the most beautiful novels I've ever read.' 5* Goodreads

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Child Finder

  • The Enchanted wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book that finds transcendence in the most unlikely of places, enshrouding horrible things in a gossamer veil of fantasy with a truly unforgettable narrator. So dark yet so exquisite

  • An unnamed prisoner looks for salvation amid the shadows of a high-security prison in this eerie, haunting novel by Rene Denfeld, who worked as a Death Row investigator for many years - Mail on Sunday on THE ENCHANTED

  • Rene Denfeld is a genius. In The Enchanted, she has imagined one of the grimmest settings in the world - a dank and filthy death row in a corrupt prison - and given us one of the most beautiful, heart-rending, and riveting novels I have ever read

  • THIS suspense novel is narrated by a survivor of child abuse. Despite its grim premise, her sense of obsessive purpose and inner strength carries the reader. - Manly Daily

Read More Read Less

Rene Denfeld

Rene Denfeld is a death penalty investigator and the author of the novel The Enchanted, as well as three non-fiction books, including the international bestseller, The New Victorians. She has written for numerous publications, including the New York Times Magazine. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her three children, all adopted from foster care. In addition to working with death row, clients, Ms. Denfeld volunteers with at-risk youth and in foster adoption advocacy.

http://renedenfeld.com/