Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Constable
  • Constable

Brighton Belle

Sara Sheridan

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Mirabelle Bevan, Fiction, Crime & mystery

WWII is over but Mirabelle's time in the backrooms of Whitehall has made her the most stylish sleuth in Brighton. Perfect for fans of ITV's The Bletchley Circle.

'Feisty, intelligent and charming' James Runcie, author of the The Grantchester Mysteries

1951, Brighton.

With the war over and the Nazis brought to justice at Nuremberg, Mirabelle Bevan (retired Whitehall secretary) thinks her skills are no longer required. After her lover's death she retires to the seaside to put the past behind her and takes a job at a debt collection agency run by the charismatic Big Ben McGuigan. But when the case of Romana Laszlo - a pregnant Hungarian refugee - comes in, Mirabelle soon discovers that her specialist knowledge is vital. With enthusiastic assistance from insurance clerk Vesta Churchill, they follow a mysterious trail of gold sovereigns and corpses that only they can unravel.

'Beneath that prim exterior lies a fearless, fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants kind of gal. One part Nancy Drew, two parts Jessica Fletcher, Mirabelle has a dogged tenacity to rival Poirot' Sunday Herald

Read More Read Less

Praise for Brighton Belle

  • Sara Sheridan never fails to surprise. Unfailingly stylish, undeniably smart, Miss Bevan is destined to bring the exploits of the past to the best-seller lists of the present - Daily Record

  • Beautifully realised vivid characters, both heroes and villains, the atmospheric Brighton setting and plot that zipped along at a lovely pace left me in no doubt that Sara Sheridan and Mirabelle Bevan are a crime force to be reckoned with - Goodreads

  • Beneath that prim exterior lies a fearless, fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants kind of gal. One part Nancy Drew, two parts Jessica Fletcher, Mirabelle has a dogged tenacity to rival Poirot - Sunday Herald

Read More Read Less

Sara Sheridan

Sara Sheridan was born in Edinburgh and studied at Trinity College, Dublin. As well as writing the popular Mirabelle Bevan Murder Mysteries, she also writes a set of historical novels set between 1820 and 1845, the latest of which was shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Award. Fascinated particularly by female history, she is a cultural commentator who appears regularly on television and radio. In 2014, she was named one of the Saltire Society's 365 Most Influential Scottish Women, past and present.

Sara tweets about her writing life as @sarasheridan and has a Facebook page at sarasheridanwriter.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay