Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Constable
  • Constable

Operation Goodwood

Sara Sheridan

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Mirabelle Bevan, Fiction, Crime & mystery

WWII is over but Mirabelle's time in the backrooms of Whitehall has made her the most stylish sleuth in Brighton. Perfect for fans of ITV's The Bletchley Circle.

1955. When Mirabelle Bevan is rescued from a fire at her home on the Brighton seafront she's lucky to escape unharmed - but the blaze takes the life of her neighbour, Dougie Beaumont, a dashing and successful racing driver living in the flat above. It soon becomes clear that this was arson, raising questions about the young man's death that Mirabelle can't resist investigating further. With her curiosity piqued and on the trail of a potential killer she finds herself taking on the mysterious world of Fleet Street with its long lunches and dodgy deals as well as the glamorous motor racing world at Goodwood.

It gradually becomes clear to Mirabelle that Dougie Beaumont's life was not as above-board as it first seemed and that this talented man had many secrets, hidden when he was alive by his international lifestyle where he was constantly on the move. Then, when a second shocking murder takes place, Mirabelle's pursuit is frustrated first by Dougie's well-connected and suspicious family and then by the official investigation - led by her would-be lover Superintendent McGregor. With the help of her colleague at McGuigan & McGuigan Debt Recovery, Vesta, and some of her ex-intelligence service connections, Mirabelle discovers the dark secrets of the glamorous racing driver have ramifications far beyond the English coastline.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Operation Goodwood

  • Sara Sheridan never fails to surprise. Unfailingly stylish, undeniably smart, Miss Bevan is destined to bring the exploits of the past to the best-seller lists of the present - Daily Record

  • Beautifully realised vivid characters, both heroes and villains, the atmospheric Brighton setting and plot that zipped along at a lovely pace left me in no doubt that Sara Sheridan and Mirabelle Bevan are a crime force to be reckoned with - Goodreads

  • Beneath that prim exterior lies a fearless, fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants kind of gal. One part Nancy Drew, two parts Jessica Fletcher, Mirabelle has a dogged tenacity to rival Poirot - Sunday Herald

Read More Read Less

Sara Sheridan

Sara Sheridan was born in Edinburgh and studied at Trinity College, Dublin. As well as writing the popular Mirabelle Bevan Murder Mysteries, she also writes a set of historical novels set between 1820 and 1845, one of which was shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Award 2017. Fascinated particularly by female history, she is a cultural commentator who appears regularly on television and radio. She also writes commercial non-fiction, including the 2017 tie-in book for the ITV series Victoria and, in 2018, an imagined female atlas of Scotland.


Sara tweets about her writing life as @sarasheridan and has a Facebook page at @sarasheridanwriter.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay