Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands: THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

Sarah Brooks

Write Review

Rated 0

Siberia, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Science fiction, Fantasy, Historical fiction, Fiction: special features, Steam engines, Trains & railways: general interest

The Great Trans-Siberian Express comes to life in a novel of wild imagination from Sarah Brooks, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel, Stacey Halls and Jessie Burton. Welcome aboard the journey of a lifetime...

A breathtaking historical fantasy set onboard the Great Trans-Siberian Express

'I urge everybody to pick up a copy' STUART TURTON
'Be warned - once you step into The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands, you'll never want to disembark' SAMANTHA SHANNON
'Wild and wonderful . . . completely captivating' JENNIFER SAINT
'Mysterious and clever and brilliant' NATASHA PULLEY

It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket.

It is the end of the nineteenth century and the world is awash with marvels. But there is nothing so marvellous as the Wastelands: a terrain of terrible miracles that lies between Beijing and Moscow.

Nothing touches the Wastelands except the Great Trans-Siberian Express: an impenetrable train built to carry cargo across continents, but which now transports anyone who dares.

Onto the platform steps a curious cast of characters: Marya, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Weiwei, a famous child born on the train; and Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist.

But there are whispers that the train isn't safe. As secrets and stories begin to unravel, the passengers and crew must survive their journey together, even as something uncontrollable seems to be breaking in . . .

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay