Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive: The 'fiercely feminist, highly imaginative debut' - Observer

Sarah Davis-Goff

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Horror & ghost stories

For fans of THE END WE START FROM and STATION 11, a brilliantly original imagining of a young woman's journey to discover her true identity, set in a post-apocalyptic Ireland

'Bleakly beautiful. A raw emotional depth-charge of a novel' MR Carey
'Gripped me as much by the heart as it did by the throat' Kiran Millwood Hargrave

LAST ONES LEFT ALIVE is the unputdownable debut novel from Sarah Davis-Goff, sure to grip readers of dystopian literary fiction such as STATION 11 or THE END WE START FROM.

Remember your Just-In-Cases. Beware Tall Buildings. Watch Your Six

Raised by her mother and Maeve on Slanbeg, an island off the west coast of Ireland, Orpen has a childhood of love and stories by the fireside. But the stories grow darker, and the training begins. Ireland has been devoured by a ravening menace known as the skrake, and though Slanbeg is safe for now, the women must always be ready to run, or to fight.

When Maeve is bitten, Orpen is faced with a dilemma: kill Maeve before her transformation is complete, or try to get help. So Orpen sets off, with Maeve in a wheelbarrow and her dog at her side, in the hope of finding other survivors, and a cure. It is a journey that will test Orpen to her limits, on which she will learn who she really is, who she really loves, and how to imagine a future in a world that ended before she was born.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Last Ones Left Alive: The 'fiercely feminist, highly imaginative debut' - Observer

  • From the get-go, it gripped me, and since the last page I've been haunted

  • Brave, brutal and brilliant

  • Crackles and sparks... the author's gifts of imagination and narrative verve are present on every page

  • A riveting novel, often grim, even terrifying, but through it all I was reminded that even in the darkest times, love and human decency can survive

  • I will be cursing Last Ones Left Alive for seriously troubling dreams for weeks to come

  • Beautifully written and terrifying, LAST ONES LEFT ALIVE will leave you reeling, not only from its originality and searing vision, but also from the humanity of the relationships portrayed

Read More Read Less

Sarah Davis-Goff

Sarah Davis-Goff's writing has been published in the Irish Times, the Guardian and LitHub. This is her first novel. She was born and lives in Dublin.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay