Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

S.G. MacLean

8 Reviews

Rated 0

The Seeker, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries, Historical fiction

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller.

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers.

'MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city' Sunday Times

London, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the Army while the Army resents his absolute power.

In the east end of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars.

Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end, and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough, and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Black Friar: The Seeker 2

  • S.G. MacLean has cemented her reputation as one of the best writers of historical crime with this second instalment of her series about Damian Seeker ... a fascinatingly flawed hero - The Times (Books of the Year)

  • A gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city - Sunday Times

  • The Seeker is a wonderful creation ...and MacLean's light-touch portrait of a hard man with a softer core is what makes these books so memorable - The Times

  • Excellent ... the author brings a fresh perspective and gold-plated research ... Damian Seeker clearly has many successful outings ahead of him - Daily Mail

  • The best historical crime novel of the year - Sunday Express on The Seeker

  • Brilliantly woven into a thrilling plot . . . MacLean's characters are subtle and convincing . . . could challenge C.J. Sansom for dominion of historical crime - The Times on The Seeker

  • A first class, compelling debut for MacLean's new hero - Crime Review on The Seeker

  • MacLean achieves the balance of immersing her readers in a time and place without ever making them feel battered over the head by research, while the central mystery is satisfying and plausibly plotted - Highland News on The Seeker

Read More Read Less

S.G. MacLean

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Scottish history. She has written four highly acclaimed historical thrillers set in Scotland, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton (shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger), A Game of Sorrows, Crucible of Secrets and The Devil's Recruit, and a series of historical thrillers set in Oliver Cromwell's London. The first and third books in the series, The Seeker and Destroying Angel, have won the CWA Historical Dagger and the second, The Black Friar, was longlisted for the same award. S.G. MacLean is married with four children and lives in Conon Bridge, Scotland. Follow her on Instagram @iwritemybike2

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay