Your cart


Total AUD



  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Winter List

S.G. MacLean

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Scotland, Historical mysteries, Historical fiction

S. G. MacLean returns to the world of Damian Seeker. Charles II is king and men who supported Cromwell must be hunted down. For fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor.

Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne. Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors.

'S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life' Antonia Hodgson

By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II. A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up. Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad.

Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king. Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List. Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker's friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York.

As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery. One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined.

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor.


Praise for The Winter List
'A wonderful storyteller' The Times

'Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy' Sun

'A propulsive plot . . . well-researched and fascinating' Guardian

'Gripping fiction with historical fact' Sunday Times

'What a fabulous book . . . there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge' 5* Reader Review

'Kept me hooked right up to the end' 5* Reader Review

'A glorious tale of revenge and retribution . . . Highly recommended' 5* Reader Review

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Winter List

  • Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy - Sun

  • A wonderful storyteller - The Times

  • With a propulsive plot, this is a well-researched and fascinating portrait of a febrile, still divided nation, where long-held grudges fester in an atmosphere of broken trust - Guardian

  • Manon faces daily danger in a novel that shows MacLean's ability to invest gripping fiction with historical fact - Sunday Times

Read More Read Less

S.G. MacLean

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University. She is the author of two historical crime series - The Alexander Seaton series, set in seventeenth-century Scotland, and the Damian Seeker series, set in Oliver Cromwell's London, as well as the standalone Jacobite thriller, The Bookseller of Inverness. She has been shortlisted four times for the CWA Historical Dagger, winning it twice. S.G. MacLean lives in Conon Bridge, Scotland.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay