Your cart


Total AUD



  • Sphere

Strong as Death: Number 4 in series

Sharan Newman

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery

The fourth title in the Catherine LeVendeur series - ten mysteries set amid the rising political and religious unease of 12th century France. The bestselling US series available in the UK for the first time.

As a former novice of the Convent of the Paraclete, the young Catherine LeVendeur's life has been filled with adventure and intrigue. When she fell in love with her Saxon nobleman, Edgar, it was hoped that married life would settle this headstrong woman. But fate will have its way and, after suffering several miscarriages, Catherine is inspired by a prophetic dream that she and Edgar must embark on a pilgrimage to the fabled monastery of Compostela, to petition for a child.

During their journey Catherine and Edgar encounter mad monks, bawdy crusaders, and a motley collection of pilgrims whose past deeds bind them all in a bizarre game of chance. When several pilgrims are gruesomely murdered, the trail of evidence points to an old and blackening sin, and a hidden villain whose quest for revenge may lead to Catherine's untimely death . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Strong as Death: Number 4 in series

  • Breathtakingly exciting and full of mystery and adventure - Los Angeles Times

  • Sharan Newman will change the way you think about the Middle Ages. Her Catherine LeVendeur series brings the twelfth century to life with compassion, intelligence, and wit, in tales rich with detail and unforgettable characters. Newman delivers an outstanding mystery in each and every book. This series is not to be missed! - Jan Burke

  • Newman skilfully depicts historical figures and issues in a very different age, one in which piety and great beauty coexist with cruelty - Publishers Weekly

  • Newman provides her audience with a multifaceted jewel of a historical mystery that is filled with fascinating details that bring the twelfth century to life. - Booklist

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay