Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

Heart-Shaped

Siobhan Parkinson

8 Reviews

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 3, Fiction, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

A searing story of love and loss, and a gripping piece of detective work from the former Irish Children's Laureate.

Written with sensitivity, humour and a lightness of touch, HEART-SHAPED is a companion to Siobhan Parkinson's highly-acclaimed novel, BRUISED - for fans of Meg Rosoff, Aidan Chambers and David Levithan.

Annie makes a startling discovery one day - and everything changes. She fears for the safety of her boyfriend Jonno, who has vanished, knowing he is in desperate trouble. Feeling alone, she clings to her dad, her only parent, but he can't fill in all the gaps in the puzzle that is Annie's life. Nor can her best friend. To do that, Annie has to look into her past and understand who her mother was, what happened to her and why.

So the truth behind Jonno's disappearance - which is the story in BRUISED - becomes a mirror for what's happening in Annie's own life. The reader is desperate for him to come back, so that Annie can fully fit the pieces of her existence back together.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Heart-Shaped

  • The central voice is extremely engaging. - Bookseller

  • The characterisation is sharp and strong, the settings very skilfully etched, the storyline compelling ... - Robert Dunbar

  • A richness and complexity. - INIS

  • very difficult to put down. The reader is drawn in... and needs to know how it ends. - Carousel

  • Believable and heart-rending story. - Independent on Sunday

  • **** - Books For Keeps

  • Excellent... extremely moving. - Scottish Daily Record

  • Parkinson writes with a light and witty touch, making Heart Shaped a captivating read. - Manchester Evening News

Read More Read Less

Siobhan Parkinson

Siobhan Parkinson is a novelist and one of Ireland's best-known writers for children. In 2010 she was appointed Ireland's first Children's Laureate and has written dozens of novels for children, young people and even a couple for adults. Her most recent are Bruised and its companion novel, Heart Shaped, for young teenagers. She is also a translator (from German) and she runs Little Island, a small children's publishing house. She lives in Dublin with a nice husband and a large computer. She is visually impaired, so she 'reads' mostly audiobooks.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay