Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia

The Anniversary

Stephanie Bishop

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

From award-winning Stephanie Bishop comes a dark and compulsive novel about writing and desire that everyone will be talking about in 2023

There were things that I wanted to say. Things I knew I couldn't say but needed to tell someone. And then the things I knew I should say. What they wanted to hear. There is never only one version.

Novelist JB Blackwood is on a cruise with her husband, Patrick, to celebrate their wedding anniversary. Her one-time professor, Patrick is much older than JB. A maverick when they met, he seemed somehow ageless, as all new gods appear in the eyes of those who worship them. He is a film director. A cult figure. But now his success is starting to wane and JB is on the cusp of winning a major literary prize. Her art, that has been forever overseen by Patrick, is starting to overshadow his.

For days they sail in the sun. They lie about drinking, reading, sleeping, having sex. There is nothing but dark water all around them.

Then a storm hits. When Patrick falls overboard, JB is left alone, as the search for Patrick's body, the circumstances of his death and the truth about their marriage begins.

'The Anniversary is an example of both deft literary craft and an engrossing read - a feat rarer than it should be' AUSTRALIAN BOOK REVIEW

'A surprisingly dark and complex novel. It is intelligent and literary in the best sense of the word: fluent in style, self-aware in its deployment of genre' WEEKEND AUSTRALIAN

'Compelling and dark, a psychological thriller that makes you want to peel back the layers ... For fans of Rachel Cusk or Siri Hustvedt' BOOKS+PUBLISHING

'A literary potboiler about love, obsession, professional rivalry between intimates and the dilemmas confronting a female artist. Riveting' SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

'Impossible to put down' DAILY MAIL

'The Anniversary is bejewelled with lovely moments and undeniably exquisite writing' THE SATURDAY AGE

'Stephanie Bishop's attention to detail reveals the minutiae of an intimate relationship, pitched against the backdrop of a life-changing traumatic event . . . The Anniversary unveils a riveting plot, which is gently and tenderly told, one that will surely be appreciated by a wide audience' ARTS HUB

'A tense and superb literary novel by one of Australia's most accomplished writers' READINGS, Best Australian Fiction of 2023

'Searing . . . Bishop probes the complexities of shared creative lives, the consequences of desire, the long reach of childhood trauma, and the sometimes casualty-strewn path carved out by ambition' THE CONVERSATION, Best Books of 2023

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Anniversary

  • With its beautiful prose and vivid imagery, the quietness of [The Other Side of the World] belies the intense emotional turmoil at its heart - Good Reading

  • The novel thrums with an elegiac hum and is soft with the shifting light and worn textures of memories - Weekend Australian

  • Bishop bravely dissects what it means to be human, questioning everything taken for granted. So real are her characters and their complex emotions that they go straight to your core and stay with you long after finishing - Readings

  • Stephanie Bishop's remarkable novel Man Out of Time explores a man's breakdown and its effects on his family. It's shimmering and sorrowful, and the writing is extraordinary

Read More Read Less
Left
loading...

Share a Story with Mum this Mother's Day

loading...

Read an extract from The Anniversary by Stephanie Bishop

loading...

Author Stephanie Bishop tells us about herself and her new book The Other Side of the World

loading...

Stephanie Bishop talks about where the idea for The Other Side of the World came from

Right
Left
loading...

Author Stephanie Bishop tells us about herself and her new book The Other Side of the World

loading...

Stephanie Bishop talks about where the idea for The Other Side of the World came from

Right
Left
loading...

Share a Story with Mum this Mother's Day

loading...

Read an extract from The Anniversary by Stephanie Bishop

Right

Stephanie Bishop

Stephanie Bishop is a widely acclaimed novelist and critic. She is the award-winning author of three novels, The Singing (2005), The Other Side of the World (2015) and Man Out of Time (2018). Stephanie has won the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction and the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year. She's also been shortlisted for the Victorian Premier's Literary Awards and the Christina Stead Prize for fiction and longlisted for the Stella Prize. And in 2006 she was named one of the Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Australian Novelists of the Year. Her work has been translated into eight languages.

Stephanie has received fellowships to Yaddo, Tenjinyama Art Studio, Himachal Pradesh University and Oxford University, where she was a Visiting Scholar at the Centre for Life Writing, and she holds a PhD from Cambridge University. Her essays and fiction have appeared in the London Review of Books, the Times Literary Supplement, The Monthly and the Sydney Review of Books, among other publications. Her fourth novel, The Anniversary, is due for international publication in 2023. Stephanie is currently working on her fifth novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay