Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus

My Dear Hamilton: discover Eliza's story . . . perfect for fans of hit musical Hamilton!

Stephanie Dray, Laura Kamoie

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical fiction

From the New York Times bestselling authors of America's First Daughter comes the epic story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton - a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal, and tragedy.

Love Lin-Manuel Miranda's hit musical Hamilton?
Discover the untold story of the brilliant
Eliza Schuyler Hamilton!

Coming of age in revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler is proud to champion the fight for independence. And when she meets Alexander Hamilton, Washington's penniless but passionate right hand man, she's captivated by the young officer's charisma and brilliance. Despite the perilous times and Alexander's background, they fall in love and are soon married.

From glittering balls to bloody street riots, the Hamiltons are at the centre of it all - including America's first sex scandal, which forces Eliza to struggle through heartbreak and betrayal to find forgiveness. And when a duel destroys Eliza's hard-won peace, the grieving widow fights her husband's enemies to preserve Alexander's legacy.

But long-buried secrets threaten everything Eliza believes about her marriage and her own legacy. Questioning her tireless devotion to the man and country that have broken her heart, she's left with one last battle - to understand the flawed man she married and imperfect union he could never have created without her . . .

Haunting, moving, and beautifully written, Dray and Kamoie use thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza's story as it's never been told before - not just as the wronged wife but as a strong woman who shaped an American legacy in her own right.

'Full of history, engaging characters who shimmer on each page, and a tremendous love story, this is a book for everyone' Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

'An unforgettable story of the woman behind Hamilton - a triumph!' Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

'My Dear Hamilton is the book of the year' Kate Quinn, USA Today bestselling author of The Alice Network

'Historical fiction at its most addictive!' Stephanie Thornton, author of The Tiger Queens

'An incredible, surprising, and altogether lovely tribute to the woman who stood beside one of the most unknowable, irascible, energetic, and passionate of men' Lars Hedbor, author of The Path: Tales from a Revolution

Read More Read Less

Praise for My Dear Hamilton: discover Eliza's story . . . perfect for fans of hit musical Hamilton!

  • Not since I read Erik Larson's Dead Wake have I had such an edge-of-my-seat immersion into historical events. Eliza Hamilton is a remarkable heroine, depicted here with gorgeous prose and heart-tugging realism. No study of Alexander Hamilton would be complete without reading this book and learning the true source of the great man's strength-his wife. Full of history, engaging characters who shimmer on each page, and a tremendous love story, this is a book for everyone.

  • Following their stunning success in America's First Daughter, Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie have penned an unforgettable story of the woman behind Hamilton. Combining treachery, lies, and the fate of those present at the birth of a nation, My Dear Hamilton is a masterpiece that is both intimate in detail and epic in scope-a triumph!

  • My Dear Hamilton is a superbly written, meticulously researched homage to the birth of America as seen from the eyes of a woman who helped bring it to life. Eliza Schuyler Hamilton is much more than a Founding Father's wife; she's a passionate patriot who finds the strength to steer her tempestuous husband away from his own worst instincts even when he betrays her. At once a wartime drama, a woman's coming of age, and a lesson on politics that resonates in today's world, My Dear Hamilton is the book of the year.

  • Eliza Hamilton assumes her rightful place as one of America's founding mothers as she guides first her husband and then her fledgling nation into the annals of history. My Dear Hamilton is historical fiction at its most addictive!

  • An incredible, surprising, and altogether lovely tribute to the woman who stood beside one of the most unknowable, irascible, energetic, and passionate men wo contributed to the foundation of this nation.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay