Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

A lush and enthralling fantasy set in a magical world inspired by medieval India, from a British debut author. Perfect for fans of Trudi Canavan, Sabaa Tahir or Sarah J. Maas

'Empire of Sand thoroughly swept me away' S. A. Chakraborty, author of CITY OF BRASS

'A darkly intricate, devastating, and utterly original story about the ways we are bound by those we love' R. F. Kuang, author of THE POPPY WAR

A NOBLEMAN'S DAUGHTER WITH MAGIC IN HER BLOOD
AN EMPIRE BUILT ON THE DREAMS OF ENSLAVED GODS


Mehr is a girl trapped between two cultures. Her father comes from the ruling classes of the empire, but her mother's people were outcasts, Amrithi nomads who worshipped the spirits of the sands.
Caught one night performing these forbidden rites, Mehr is brought to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, who try to force her into their service by way of an arranged marriage. If she fails in their bidding, the gods themselves may awaken and seek vengeance...

From British debut author Tasha Suri, Empire of Sand is a lush and beautiful tale set in a magical world inspired by medieval India.

'Draws you into an intricately realised world of blood and secrets. An arresting and magical history told through the eyes of an indomitable heroine. I cannot ask for more' Jeannette Ng

'Astounding . . . the epic story set my heart free' Fran Wilde

'The best fantasy novel I have read this year' Miles Cameron

TASHA SURI is a librarian in London. Follow her on twitter at @tashadrinkstea for updates.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Empire of Sand

  • A stunning and enthralling debut, Empire of Sand thoroughly swept me away

  • A darkly intricate, devastating, and utterly original story about the ways we are bound by those we love

  • Empire of Sand draws you into an intricately realized world of blood and secrets. An arresting and magical history told through the eyes of an indomitable heroine. I cannot ask for more

Read More Read Less

Tasha Suri

Tasha Suri was born in Harrow, North-West London. The daughter of Punjabi parents, she spent many childhood holidays exploring India with her family, and still fondly remembers the time she was chased around the Taj Mahal by an irate tour guide. She studied English and Creative Writing at Warwick University, and now lives in London where she works as a librarian. To no one's surprise, she owns a cat. A love of period Bollywood films, history and mythology led her to begin writing South Asian influenced fantasy.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay