Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

The Glass Republic: The Skyscraper Throne Book 2

Tom Pollock

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Skyscraper Throne, Interest age: from c 14 years, Fiction, Fantasy

'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' Guardian

In the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.

Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her.

When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face.

The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Glass Republic: The Skyscraper Throne Book 2

  • A powerful new imagination in SF - Guardian

  • Hugely inventive in his world-building . . . following in the tradition of authors like Neil Gaiman and China Mieville - SFX

  • One of speculative fiction's most promising new voices - it's such an unfettered success that the concluding volume of the Skyscraper Throne saga can't come soon enough - Tor.com

  • A impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling - Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts on The City s Son

  • Vivid, inventive - and truly weird - Daily Mail on The City s Son

  • Gorgeously written and brimming with bizarre urban creatures, this darkly imagined and sometimes painful tale should delight fans of Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, and Holly Black - Publishers Weekly, Starred Review on The City s Son

  • Pollock's immersive world is easy to get into and once there, you just don't want to leave ... An excellent novel which reinvigorates urban fantasy as a genre - Upcoming4me

  • Manages to push the boundaries of imagination and innovation with every page. Beautifully written, wildly imaginative and surprisingly emotional, The Glass Republic continues an exciting new phase in urban fantasy that's being powered by one author alone - Fantasy Book Review

Read More Read Less

Tom Pollock

Tom Pollock is a graduate of the Sussex University Creative Writing Programme, and a member of the London-based writers' group The T-Party. He has lived everywhere from Scotland to Sumatra, but the peculiar magic of London has always drawn him back.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay