Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio
  • Sphere

The Hunter

Tom Wood

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Victor, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

Victor, the antihero hitman of Tom Wood's bestselling series, makes his debut in this intricate, action-packed thriller for fans of Lee Child, Bourne and Bond

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEAD

His name is a cover
He has no home
And he kills for a living

Victor is a hitman, a man with no past and no surname. His world is one of paranoia and obsessive attention to detail; his morality lies either dead or dying. No one knows what truly motivates the hunter. No one gets close enough to ask.

When a Paris job goes spectacularly wrong, Victor finds himself running for his life across four continents, pursued by a kill squad and investigated by secret services from more than one country. With meticulous style, Victor plans his escape . . . and takes the fight to his would-be killers.

In this first novel in the explosive Victor series, it's not about right and wrong - only about who lives and who dies.

*********

'Very few British writers are as good' - Sunday Express

'Great insights into the tradecraft and psychology of the professional hunter' - Sunday Times

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Hunter

  • Jack Reacher meets Thomas Crown in this electrifying thriller - Simon Kernick

  • A nonstop, breathless, trimmed-to-the-bone thriller with action sequences that are absolutely state-of-the-art. It's the best chase novel I've read in years - Joseph Finder

  • An impressively intricate thriller . . . The scenes are vivid and the plot revelations parcelled out at expert intervals . . . Exciting - New Yorker

  • A superlative debut . . . Thriller fans will be eager to see more from this bright new talent - Publishers Weekly, starred review

  • There are echoes of Jason Bourne, of course, but there's an added poignancy, a tinge of regret in the hero that gives this thriller an emotional, reflective quality which is rare today. Wood is a name we'll rightly hear much more about - Daily Mail

  • A high-octane, hard-core slice of killer action - Daily Record

  • Tom Wood ruthlessly dishes up an authentically brutal mid-book twist and an unapologetic killer who doesn't beg you to warm to him - Daily Telegraph

Read More Read Less

Tom Wood

Tom Wood is a full-time writer born in Burton-on-Trent who now lives in London. After a stint as freelance editor and film-maker, he completed his first novel, The Hunter, which was an instant bestseller and introduced readers to a genuine antihero, Victor, an assassin with a purely logical view on life and whose morals are deeply questionable. Like Victor, Tom is passionate about physical sport, being both a huge boxing fan and practising Krav Maga martial arts, which has seen him sustain a number of injuries. He has not, however, ever killed anyone.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay