Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Red Queen

Victoria Aveyard

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.

This is a world divided by blood - red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Red Queen

  • "A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists." - SCI-FI NOW

  • Aveyard weaves a compelling new world, and Mare and the two men in her life evolve intriguingly as class tension rises. Revolution supersedes romance, setting the stage for action-packed surprises. An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends. - KIRKUS

  • 'A wonderful mash up of Ancient Rome and Marie Antoinette with a dash of Catherine Fisher's Incarceron and Ridley Scott's Gladiator, not to mention some of Marvel Comic's box of tricks . . . Exciting and original. - Sam Hawksmoor, author of the Repossession Trilogy

  • 'Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent.' - STARBURST

  • "It's slick, it's interesting and ... gripping." - SFX

Read More Read Less
Write a Review

Reader reviews (2)

  • Where do I even begin with Red Queen? It. Was. Amazing. The book follows a girl named Mare as she discovers that despite her Red blood and impoverished status, she possess a superpower, reserved only for the Silver rulers of the world. The King and Queen decide the only way to protect themselves is to marry Mare off to their youngest son, Maven. This way, Mare's power can be used to help the century-long war campaign, and protect the Silver's from the 'Scarlet Guard', a group of Red's looking to bring down the Silvers. To make things worse for Mare, she has eyes for Cal, the crown prince. Mare decides, the only way she can save herself is to join the Scarlet Guard and bring down the Silvers from the inside. Action ensues and plot twists jump out left, right and centre - it's a wild ride and anyone can betray anyone. This book was filled with it all - action, romance, betrayal, magic, and unexpected twists and turns. Everything you thought you knew about the world changes in the last hundred pages of the book, and you are left bewildered and speechless as you try to comprehend how it all managed to change. I literally cannot explain to you how great this book is! Pros: Victoria Aveyard has managed to create a world that you want to learn more about - the history, the origin of the powers, and how Mare managed to have the powers of a Silver. The plot twists seem to come out of no where, and yet they just make perfect sense. Her writing is so wonderful, that the book turns into a movie before your very eyes - you can see it all happening, feel it all happening, live it all. Cons: I cannot find fault with this book, only that we have to wait to long for the sequel Overall, you need to read this book. You may think it's just another overhyped young adult book, but it's not. If you enjoyed The Hunger Games, the Trylle Trilogy and Divergent, this is the book for you. It's a wild ride you don't want to miss.

    Victoria Kennedy

    Rated 5
  • Red Queen was incredible! An explosion of fantasy, a dystopian world and the story of a girl who defies an oppressive society against the odds. At eighteen, Red citizens are sent to the front line of the Silver waged war. With best friend Kilorn without a trade, his recruitment follows the same path as that of his father who died fighting, Mere's father who is now confined to a wheelchair and her three brothers who are all currently serving. Mere can't lose another. No one has ever escaped recruitment, but with the help of The Scarlet Guard, Mere is hoping both she and Kilorn can escape. But Mere is no ordinary Red, and her journey to freedom takes a dramatic turn which will see her betrothed to a Prince, working alongside the revolutionaries and trying to survive within the palace walls with the cruel Royals that would rather see her dead. I loved Mere. She's tough and her choices are based solely on protecting her family and Kilorn. But as her character is immersed into the Silver world, she begins to fight for not only those around her but the plight of the Red population. Even without her ability to create and control electricity, she's a force to be reckoned with even though being betrothed to Maven is purely to keep her compliant. Mere and Prince Cal share an undeniable attraction, even though Cal is betrothed to marry another. Where Maven is sensitive and the neglected brother, Cal lives for the strategy of war and is a natural born leader of citizens and soldiers alike. From the poverty stricken streets of the Red towns, to the lush surrounds of the palace and Silver dynasty, even the secondary characters are in depth and well developed. But what set Red Queen apart for me, was the world in which Victoria Aveyard created. Cruel and unforgiving, where hope shines in the form of a seventeen year old girl who is just starting to realise the power she holds. Red Queen is Victoria's debut. Yes, debut. If she's capable of creating such a phenomenal first release, seasoned authors should take note. Like Mere, Victoria Aveyard herself is a force to be reckoned with.

    Kelly Pollard

    Rated 5
Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

10 books to read with your BFF

Right
Left
loading...

10 books to read with your BFF

Right

Victoria Aveyard

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies.

Find out more at www.victoriaaveyard.com or follow her on Twitter @VictoriaAveyard