Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Fleet
  • Fleet
  • Fleet
  • Hachette Audio
  • Fleet

Wine Girl: A sommelier's tale of making it in the toxic world of fine dining

Victoria James

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Memoirs

An affecting, captivating memoir from a young sommelier, struggling to succeed in the glamorous but notoriously toxic restaurant industry

'Hugely entertaining' Jay Rayner, Observer

'Addictive' Stylist

'James does for wine what Anthony Bourdain did for the high-pressure, low-margin world of professional restaurants, exposing secrets kept from customers' Financial Times

Aged thirteen, Victoria James started her first job in a diner in New Jersey.

Aged nineteen, Victoria was serving sugary Cosmopolitans in a restaurant off Broadway.

Aged twenty-one, Victoria was named the US's youngest sommelier, working in Michelin-starred restaurants, serving the finest wines.

The groping patrons she learned to handle, but, behind the scenes, the world of high-end dining was a mess of fractious relationships and unacknowledged abuse. It would take hitting rock-bottom for Victoria to find her way back to the industry she adores.

Wine Girl is the memoir of a young woman breaking free from her traumatic childhood. It's the story of overcoming a notoriously misogynistic business, and of the restorative power of a glass of wine with friends.

'You'll raise a glass to James's extraordinary resilience' Sunday Times

'A must-read' Daily Telegraph

Read More Read Less

Praise for Wine Girl: A sommelier's tale of making it in the toxic world of fine dining

  • Don't read this book without wine to hand. I glugged at the gossipy bits, sipped at the sad parts . . . In Wine Girl James spills all on Manhattan's fine-dining world . . . you'll raise a glass to her extraordinary resilience - Sunday Times

  • Unpicks the institutional misogyny of the fine dining restaurant scene. Perfect for fans of Sweet Bitter and also reminds you of the nourishing joy of good food, good people and good wine - Stylist

  • Wine Girl is funny, bracing, disturbing and above all necessary . . . I couldn't put it down - Bianca Bosker, New York Times bestselling author of Cork Dork

  • In this gritty, eloquent memoir, James talks about overcoming sexual assault and sexism as she built a career in the restaurant business . . . a captivating story of resilience - Publishers Weekly

  • One can't help but root for James's hard-won success - Telegraph

  • An uplifting story of grit and resilience that will leave you with an appetite for the pleasures that James so vividly describes - Mail on Sunday

Read More Read Less

Victoria James

Victoria James has worked in restaurants since she was thirteen. She was certified as a sommelier when she was twenty-one, making her the youngest sommelier in the country and has appeared on both Forbes and Zagat's "30 Under 30" lists. She has worked at some of the most prestigious restaurants in New York City, including Marea and Aureole. Currently, she is the Beverage Director and partner at Cote, a Michelin-starred hot spot in the Flatiron district of New York.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay