Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees

Alan Titchmarsh

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The new novel from Britain's favourite gardener and TV presenter Alan Titchmarsh is a sweeping story of love, danger, courage and betrayal, set in wartime London and Paris.

'It's just brilliant - full of poetry' - Jilly Cooper

Set in wartime London and occupied France, this is a thrilling story of love, danger and sacrifice from bestselling novelist Alan Titchmarsh.

It is the late 1930s when seventeen-year-old Rosamund Hanbury leaves behind the endless summers of her coastal Devonshire home for the fast pace of high society London.

Under the expert guidance of her formidable aunt, the country mouse learns how to act like a lady, hosting dinner parties and rubbing shoulders with Britain's most influential. And when the enigmatic Harry Napier sweeps her off her feet at London's famous Cafe de Paris she could almost forget that Britain has declared war.

But the Phoney War ends. Harry is posted, London reels from the first bombings of the Blitz and Rosamund suffers a devastating personal loss that leaves her all the more determined to do her bit for the war effort.
Joining the Special Forces she is sent to work alongside the Resistance on a top secret mission in France.
It is here that her courage and loyalty are truly put to the test. And where she learns that no one is what they seem: at home or abroad . . .

READERS ARE LOVING THE SCARLET NIGHTINGALE:
'Alan Titchmarsh at his best' - 5 STARS

'[Alan Titchmarsh] is a genius and has my full admiration. Buy the book!' - 5 STARS

'What a fabulous read, no hesitation in recommending this wonderful book' - 5 STARS

'Made me cry, so beautifully written' - 5 STARS

'I loved this book - I can highly recommend' - 5 STARS

Read More Read Less

Alan Titchmarsh

Alan Titchmarsh is known to millions through his career as a television presenter of shows including Love Your Garden, Ground Force, Gardeners' World, The Chelsea Flower Show, Secrets of the National Trust and The Alan Titchmarsh Show. He has written more than forty gardening books, as well as eleven novels and three volumes of memoirs. He was made MBE in the millennium New Year Honours list and holds the Victoria Medal of Honour, the Royal Horticultural Society's highest award.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay