Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

A football manager in the 70s is struggling to keep his team and his job together when an away game brings him to London, where the shadow of IRA terrorism stirs - a gripping read for fans of Peter James, John Grisham and Robert Harris.

Football manager Charlie Gordon is struggling with one defeat after another at the club he loves. Only a decent Cup run is keeping him in work, but tensions are running close to the surface ahead of the next round: Chelsea away.

Footballers fall into two categories: artists or assassins. Soon Charlie is going to find out which players can deliver - and just how much pressure they can all stand.

Meanwhile, as the country prepares for a general election, one of the most dangerous political assassinations in the IRA's history is being planned in London. An active service unit await the critical signal to proceed...

Both sides will converge on the capital for a result that will shake everyone's lives, with consequences far beyond football.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Saturday Bloody Saturday

  • A great book. It has everything - thrilling suspense, intrigue, funny - and what an ending. I couldn't put it down

  • A gripping combination of football (as we used to know it) and terrorism (as we still know it). And, no, I didn't anticipate the explosive climax

  • A story that brings together so brilliantly football in the 70s, and the dark days of the terrible violence we worked so hard to end, is a must-read for any fan of football or any friend of Ireland

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay