Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

The Cost of Knowing

Brittney Morris

Write Review

Rated 0

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

From the acclaimed author of SLAY, comes a gripping novel, about brothers, grief, and what it means to be a young Black man in America. For fans of Dear Martin and They Both Die at the End.

Sixteen year old Alex Rufus lives with his younger brother, Isaiah, in a quiet neighbourhood in Chicago. But recently, the neighbours are on high-alert - whenever they see someone they don't think looks safe, they take matters into their own hands, often calling the cops without reason.

Alex starts taking on more shifts at the local ice-cream shop, Scoops, and spending time with his girlfriend, Talia. But then, Alex starts experiencing visions of the future whenever he touches objects or the people around him. And when he picks up a family photo, he has a vision that his younger brother, Isaiah, is going to die - he can't tell how, but he knows it will be soon.

All Alex wants is to protect Isiah, but how can he protect him in the present, when he knows the dangers of the future? And how will he ensure Isaiah's place in it, when the one place he felt protected, his neigbourhood, doesn't feel like home anymore?

A story that speaks to hard truths about race, prejudice, and the inherent injustice that permeates the world we live in.

Read More Read Less

Brittney Morris

Brittney Morris holds a BA in Economics from Boston University. She spends her spare time reading, playing indie video games, and enjoying the Seattle rain from the comfort of her apartment. She lives with her husband Steven who would rather enjoy the rain from a campsite in the woods because he hasn't seen enough horror movies. Brittney is was chosen as a Novel-In-A-Day participant 2016, is a four-time NaNoWriMo winner, and an active informal mentor in #PitMad and #DVPit. She is also a 2018 Pitch Wars mentor.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay