Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio

The Fading of the Light: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set on the Cornish coast

Charlotte Betts

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Sagas, Historical fiction

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter, The Fading of the Light is the next book in the Spindrift Trilogy, a beautifully evocative, multi-generational family drama set at the turn of the century and perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard, Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley.

'Lush, romantic and full of intrigue' Tracy Rees, Richard & Judy bestselling author

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes The Fading of the Light, the next book in the Spindrift Trilogy - a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles.

1902. Spindrift House, Cornwall

Edith Fairchild, deserted by her feckless husband Benedict eight years before, has established the thriving Spindrift artists' community by the sea and found deep and lasting love with Pascal. They have accepted that they cannot marry, but when Benedict returns unexpectedly to Spindrift House, all Edith and Pascal's secret hopes and dreams of a joyous life together are overturned.

Benedict's arrival shatters the peaceful and creative atmosphere of the close-knit community. When Edith will not allow him back into her bed, the conflict escalates and he sets in motion a chain of tragic events that reverberate down the years and threatens the happiness of the community forever . . .

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

'A deeply romantic novel whose vivid characters will linger in your mind' Margaret Kaine

'Romantic, poignant and gripping . . . a fabulous holiday read' Deborah Swift

'A stunning and captivating read . . . full of drama, love, loss and life' Book Literati

'Lush, romantic and full of intrigue. I loved the idyllic setting of a Cornish artists' community in Edwardian times. A book to drift away with' Tracy Rees, Richard & Judy bestselling author

'This is a story filled with secrets and revelations. It is one that lingers in the heart long after the final page is turned. The Fading of the Light is a must read for anyone who wants to be absorbed as well as utterly enchanted' Carol McGrath

'A compelling story, beautifully written and brought alive with rich historical detail . . . I was delighted to be taken back to Cornwall' Liz Harris

'A rich cast of characters, whose complex personalities I totally believed in, pulled me into this absorbing story' Molly Green

'An absorbing read with an interesting set of characters that vividly depicts the bohemian life of these Edwardian artists and their family dramas' Janet MacLeod Trotter

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Fading of the Light: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set on the Cornish coast

  • Lush, romantic and full of intrigue. I loved the idyllic setting of a Cornish artists' community in Edwardian times. A book to drift away with

  • Romantic, poignant and gripping . . . a fabulous holiday read

  • This is a story filled with secrets and revelations. It is one that lingers in the heart long after the final page is turned. The Fading of the Light is a must read for anyone who wants to be absorbed as well as utterly enchanted

  • The Fading of the Light is a stunning and captivating read with wonderful characters facing the problems we face today. Full of drama, love, loss and life with a strong plot line that captured my attention and didn't let go until the final sentence on the last page - Book Literati

  • A compelling story, beautifully written and brought alive with rich historical detail . . . I was delighted to be taken back to Cornwall

  • A rich cast of characters, whose complex personalities I totally believed in, pulled me into this absorbing story

  • A deeply romantic novel whose vivid characters will linger in your mind . . . enthralling, poignant and beautifully written

Read More Read Less

Charlotte Betts

Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay