Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus

The Palace of Lost Dreams

Charlotte Betts

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical fiction

From the multi-award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter, The Palace of Lost Dreams is a gorgeously evocative novel set in 18th century India, with characters you won't forget. If you love Philippa Gregory and Joanne Harris, you will adore Charlotte Betts.

A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft.

'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter

India, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago.

As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy.

With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . .

Reader reviews for Charlotte Betts:

'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer

'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer

'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Read More Read Less

Charlotte Betts

Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay