Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio

The Light Within Us: a heart-wrenching historical family saga set in Cornwall

Charlotte Betts

Write Review

Rated 0

Sagas, Historical fiction

From the multi-award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter, The Light Within Us is the beginning of a beautifully evocative, multi-generational family drama set at the turn of the century and perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard, Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley.

'A delightful historical saga which is so beautifully woven together that from the very start I was enchanted' Jaffa Reads Too

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles.

1891. Spindrift House, Cornwall.

Talented painter Edith Fairchild is poised to begin a life of newlywed bliss and artistic creation in the inspiring setting of Spindrift House, freshly inherited by her charming husband, Benedict, and overlooking the stunning harbour of Port Isaac. But when her honeymoon turns sour, her dreams are all but dashed and after a moment of madness and desire she finds herself pregnant with another man's child.

Edith swears never to tell her secret and devotes herself to her art. Joined at Spindrift House by her friends - Clarissa, Dora and the secret father of her child, Pascal - together they turn the house into a budding artists' community. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and that the weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever...

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

'This book was a pleasure to read, from beginning to end. A story in which to lose yourself, and become part of the community... It's Spindrift House against the world, and you'll be one of them, every step of the way!' Terri Nixon

'I loved this book . . . The Light Within Us is a real page-turner, and I'm very much looking forward to reading the next stage of the journey through the lives of those who inhabit Spindrift House. Highly recommended' Liz Harris

'I can't even begin to explain how much I loved this book. I really wasn't expecting to get so invested in these character's lives... but WOW. I thought this would just be a simple love story, but it is SO MUCH MORE than that' Rainy Reads

'Written with flair, style and confidence, The Light Within Us . . . touches the heart and lifts the spirit' Bookish Jottings

'The Light Within Us is a book that captivated me from start to finish. Rich in detail, full of passion this is a delightful and fascinating read. I really can't wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogy' Book Literati

'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde

'A highly-recommended novel
Read More Read Less

Charlotte Betts

Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay