Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

The Unwanted Dead

Chris Lloyd

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical mysteries

The first in a new gritty, edgy historical crime series for fans of Philip Kerr and Mick Herron.

'A gripping murder mystery and a vivid recreation of Paris under German Occupation.' ANDREW TAYLOR

'Terrific' SUNDAY TIMES, Best Books of the Month
'A thoughtful, haunting thriller' MICK HERRON
'Sharp and compelling' THE SUN

* * * * *

Paris, Friday 14th June 1940.


The day the Nazis march into Paris, making headlines around the globe.

Paris police detective Eddie Giral - a survivor of the last World War - watches helplessly on as his world changes forever.

But there is something he still has control over. Finding whoever is responsible for the murder of four refugees. The unwanted dead, who no one wants to claim.

To do so, he must tread carefully between the Occupation and the Resistance, between truth and lies, between the man he is and the man he was.

All the while becoming whoever he must be to survive in this new and terrible order descending on his home...

* * * * *

'Lloyd's Second World War Paris is rougher than Alan Furst's, and Eddie Giral, his French detective, is way edgier than Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther ... Ranks alongside both for its convincingly cloying atmosphere of a city subjugated to a foreign power, a plot that reaches across war-torn Europe and into the rifts in the Nazi factions, and a hero who tries to be a good man in a bad world. Powerful stuff.'
THE TIMES

'Excellent ... In Eddie Giral, Lloyd has created a character reminiscent of Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther, oozing with attitude and a conflicted morality that powers a complex, polished plot. Historical crime at its finest.'
VASEEM KHAN, author of Midnight at Malabar House

'Monumentally impressive ... A truly wonderful book. If somebody'd given it to me and told me it was the latest Robert Harris, I wouldn't have been surprised. Eddie Giral is a wonderful creation.'
ALIS HAWKINS

'A terrific read - gripping and well-paced. The period atmosphere is excellent.'
MARK ELLIS

'The best kind of crime novel: gripping, thought-provoking and moving. In Detective Eddie Giral, Chris Lloyd has created a flawed hero not just for occupied Paris, but for our own times, too.'
KATHERINE STANSFIELD

Read More Read Less

Chris Lloyd

Straight after graduating in Spanish and French, Chris Lloyd hopped on a bus from Cardiff to Catalonia and stayed there for over twenty years. He has also lived in Grenoble - researching the French Resistance movement - as well as in the Basque Country and Madrid, where he taught English and worked in educational publishing and as a travel writer. He now lives in South Wales and is a translator and novelist.
Lloyd is also the author of the Elisenda Domenech crime series, featuring a police officer with the newly-devolved Catalan police force. The result of his lifelong interest in World War 2 and resistance and collaboration in Occupied France, The Unwanted Dead is his first novel set in Paris, featuring Detective Eddie Giral.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay