Your cart


Total AUD



  • Orion Children's Books

The Doomspell Trilogy: The Scent of Magic: Book 2

Cliff McNish

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Age groups: children, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

Repackaged for a new generation, the second volume in Cliff McNish's bestselling debut trilogy.

Rachel and her brother are extraordinary. She is a spell-maker. He is a destroyer of spells.
The High Witch, Heebra, wants Rachel and Eric crushed, and her enemies, the Wizard's, destroyed. A party of witches is dispatched to find the thousands of children with powers like Rachel's, and turn them into a ferocious army.
Can Rachel and Eric stop the witches and win the battle between good and evil
The second instalment of the classic Doomspell Trilogy.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Doomspell Trilogy: The Scent of Magic: Book 2

  • McNish tells a rattling good tale, and his well-plotted narrative races through some excellent twists and turns to a spectacular climax. - THE DAILY TELEGRAPH

  • The language used is rich and evocative, full of visual and sensory imagery it captures the readers interest and imagination from the beginning and holds it with ease to the end. - SCHOOL LIBRARIAN

  • Anyone who enjoyed The Doomspell will want to follow it up with The Scent of Magic, in which the battle between the Witches and Earth's children moves onto our planet. - THE TIMES

  • The Scent of Magic continues The Doomspell story, but if anything the characterisations are deeper, the plot even more intriguing, and it is all carried off with a verve, pace and sheer passion for pure storytelling that make McNish's novels so compulsive. - AMAZON

  • This is a children's book full of inventive touches great ideas, evocative descriptions, and page-turning pace. - VECTOR

  • It is a spellbinding read full of excitement and suspense. A brilliant sequel to The Doomspell. - COOL READS

Read More Read Less

Cliff McNish

Cliff McNish was born in Sunderland, but has spent most of his life in the southeast of England. His first book was THE DOOMSPELL, inspired by a story he told his daughter. Since then he has published THE SILVER SEQUENCE and the acclaimed stand-alone supernatural thrillers, BREATHE (winner of the Salford and Calderdale book awards), ANGEL, SAVANNAH GREY and THE HUNTING GROUND, as well as 2014's GOING HOME.

Find out more at, and follow him on Twitter at and Facebook at

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay