Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

Taking Pity

David Mark

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Ds Mcavoy, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

Book four in the Hull-based crime series, TAKING PITY takes detectives McAvoy, Ray and Pharaoh on their most dangerous collision course to date.

DS AECTOR MCAVOY BOOK FOUR: TAKING PITY TAKES READERS FURTHER ONTO THE RICHARD & JUDY FEATURING, SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AND KINDLE CHART-TOPPING STREETS OF HULL.

'Exceptional . . . An exciting new talent' Val McDermid

They have taken DS Aector McAvoy's family.

They have taken DCI Colin Ray's foundation.

They have taken DS Trish Pharaoh's fight.

Now the ruthless criminal network that has tightened its stranglehold on Hull intends to take everything that remains from those who dare to stand in its way.

Taking Pity is a police procedural thriller that pulls no punches. It is the story of three officers who can take no more, and a merciless nemesis that takes no chances, no prisoners and no pity.


Dead keen on DS Aector McAvoy? Then look no further than Dead Pretty, book 5 in the series . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Taking Pity

  • David Mark dissects the dark strange underbelly of Hull with a steely precision. The city has found its Rankin. - Stav Sherez

  • Exceptional . . . An exciting new talent. - Val McDermid

  • Fast-moving and tightly plotted, with strong characterisation and a likeable protagonist. - Guardian

  • One of the darkest of the new faces in British crime writing, and not one to miss. - Daily Mail

  • Outstanding. - Peter May

  • The Dark Winter is an exceptional debut from an exciting new talent. David Mark is an original and captivating new voice. - Val McDermid on THE DARK WINTER

  • Sophisticated plotting, in-depth characters, and sharp dialogue elevate British author Mark's gritty second police procedural. Fans of John Harvey and Peter James will find much to like. - Publishers Weekly on ORIGINAL SKIN

  • McAvoy's second is an excellent police procedural featuring sex, violence and complex characters who are quirky but likable. - Kirkus Reviews

  • Fast-moving and tightly plotted, with strong characterisation and a likeable protagonist, this is an extremely promising debut. - Guardian on THE DARK WINTER

Read More Read Less

David Mark

David Mark has been a journalist for fifteen years, including seven years as crime reporter with Yorkshire Post in their Hull office. The Dark Winter is his first novel.