Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland

A Talented Man

Henrietta McKervey

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

In the vein of Sarah Waters and Patricia Highsmith, a master forger 'discovers' a sequel to Bram Stoker's Dracula ... and will stop at nothing to claim his prize.

IN THE VEIN OF PATRICIA HIGHSMITH, A MASTER FORGER DISCOVERS THE LOST SEQUEL TO BRAM STOKER'S DRACULA ...

January 1938. Disillusioned author Ellis Spender lives with his mother in a large, decaying house in Hampstead. Since the death of his father, the once-celebrated society painter Sir Sidney Spender, the family fortune has dwindled to nothing.

When his uncle Freddie Broughton, a well-known theatrical impresario, flees to Hollywood, Ellis realises there is money to be made from Freddie's abandoned belongings, among them Lyceum Theatre memorabilia and letters from Bram and Florence Stoker.

Ellis wants money, success and a new life abroad. Struggling to stay ahead of his creditors, he decides to forge a sequel to one of the most famous novels of all time, Bram Stoker's Dracula. His remarkable 'discovery' will create the lifestyle he believes is his due. And he will stop at nothing to achieve it.

A Talented Man is a page-turning literary thriller of deception, forgery ... and murder.

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Talented Man

  • A fascinating and extremely well-written blend of historical and contemporary crime fiction - Irish Independent review of VIOLET HILL

  • A fascinating read that deals with big questions about female activism and solidarity ... McKervey's lean writing, light historical touch and engaging narrative never falter, and this impressive debut marks the writer out as a talent able to tell a complex story with intelligence and humour - Sunday Times review of WHAT BECOMES OF US

  • What impresses most in [The Heart of Everything] is the quality of the writing, the striking images and witty turns of phrase ... it's a page turner ... [Henrietta McKervey is a novelist in the early stages of her career, brimming with promise. She has wit, imagination and an understanding of human beings, which are the hallmark of the true novelist. - Sunday Independent review of THE HEART OF EVERYTHING

  • A fascinating read that deals with big questions about female activism and solidarity ... McKervey's lean writing, light historical touch and engaging narrative never falter, and this impressive debut marks the writer out as a talent able to tell a complex story with intelligence and humour - Irish Times review of WHAT BECOMES OF US

Read More Read Less

Henrietta McKervey

Henrietta McKervey is from Belfast and lives in Dublin.
She is the author of the acclaimed literary novels What Becomes of Us, The Heart of Everything and Violet Hill. A Talented Man is her fourth novel.
@hmckervey
www.henriettamckervey.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay