Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland

A Talented Man: A gripping suspense novel about a lost sequel to Dracula

Henrietta McKervey

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

In the vein of Sarah Waters and Patricia Highsmith, a master forger 'discovers' a sequel to Bram Stoker's Dracula ... and will stop at nothing to claim his prize.

IN THE VEIN OF PATRICIA HIGHSMITH, A MASTER FORGER DISCOVERS THE LOST SEQUEL TO BRAM STOKER'S DRACULA ...

'Hangover Square meets The Talented Mr. Ripley, a chilling and engrossing tale of the psychopathic mind' Christine Dwyer Hickey

Ellis Spender, only son of a once-esteemed society family, believes money, success and the high life are his birthright -- only prevented by a cruel trick of fate.
Struggling to stay ahead of his creditors, the dejected writer decides to forge a sequel to one of the most famous novels of all time, Bram Stoker's Dracula. Its remarkable 'discovery' will create the lifestyle he believes is his due. But as his scheme begins to bear fruit, others who stand to gain become obstacles. And Ellis will stop at nothing to achieve his desires...

A Talented Man is a page-turning literary thriller of deception, forgery ... and murder.

'The atmosphere of pre-war London is evoked with skill in this spirited story of literary skulduggery' Joseph O'Connor

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Talented Man: A gripping suspense novel about a lost sequel to Dracula

  • Stylish, compelling ... An utterly absorbing, atmospheric, beautifully written novel. - Irish Times

  • A fascinating story gracefully told with a great cast of characters. A Talented Man is a clever, atmospheric thriller - you will not want to miss this! - Netgalley review

  • "A proper throat-clenching will he get caught? thriller storyline, given added style and depth by respectively, elegant writing and some thought-provoking explorations of identity, art, morality, the mind and the self. A Talented Man could be an early inclusion in the Ripley series." - Irish Independent

  • "Henrietta McKervey's brilliant new novel is all about stories. It's about the stories we tell regarding ourselves - are we the hero or the villain of our own lives? It's about what gives a story value, and the ways in which a story can take on a life of its own, for better or for worse. A Talented Man is a wonderfully entertaining novel ... The narrative is tight as a drum throughout, from the opening scene in the pub to the excellent ending." - Sunday Times

  • A fascinating read that deals with big questions about female activism and solidarity ... McKervey's lean writing, light historical touch and engaging narrative never falter, and this impressive debut marks the writer out as a talent able to tell a complex story with intelligence and humour - Sunday Times review of WHAT BECOMES OF US

  • A fascinating and extremely well-written blend of historical and contemporary crime fiction - Irish Independent review of VIOLET HILL

  • What impresses most in [The Heart of Everything] is the quality of the writing, the striking images and witty turns of phrase ... it's a page turner ... [Henrietta McKervey is a novelist in the early stages of her career, brimming with promise. She has wit, imagination and an understanding of human beings, which are the hallmark of the true novelist. - Sunday Independent review of THE HEART OF EVERYTHING

  • A fascinating read that deals with big questions about female activism and solidarity ... McKervey's lean writing, light historical touch and engaging narrative never falter, and this impressive debut marks the writer out as a talent able to tell a complex story with intelligence and humour - Irish Times review of WHAT BECOMES OF US

Read More Read Less

Henrietta McKervey

Henrietta McKervey is from Belfast and lives in Dublin.
She is the author of the acclaimed literary novels What Becomes of Us, The Heart of Everything and Violet Hill. A Talented Man is her fourth novel.
@hmckervey
www.henriettamckervey.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay