Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Books Ireland
  • Hachette Books Ireland

At Rope's End

Henrietta McKervey

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

In the vein of Sarah Waters and The Goldfinch, a master forger 'discovers' a sequel to Bram Stoker's Dracula ... and will stop at nothing to claim his prize.

January 1938. Ellis Spender, a failed author, lives with his widowed mother Virginia in a large, decaying house in Hampstead. Once a wealthy and established family, the Spender's fortune has long since disappeared.
An unexpected encounter with a former lover of his uncle Freddie - the latter a well-known theatrical impresario who has fled to Hollywood - provides Ellis with some much-needed income, and causes him to realise the potential of Freddie's abandoned belongings.
Ellis has inherited the fine hand of his father - a once-celebrated society portrait painter - and the step from blackmail to forgery is a short one. Soon Ellis sets upon a great plan.
He enlists the help of Janey, one of Virginia's lodgers, who works at the famed Lyceum Theatre, once managed by posthumously famed author Bram Stoker.
For he is destined to forge a sequel to one of the most famous novels of all time: Bram Stoker's Dracula. His 'discovery' of The Undead Count will generate the lifestyle and prestige that Ellis was born to enjoy.
When his newly discovered potential for happiness is threatened by Freddie's unexpected return to London, Ellis reveals just how far he is willing to go to fulfill his ambition.
At Rope's End is a page-turning literary psychological thriller of deception, forgery ... and murder.

Read More Read Less

Henrietta McKervey

Henrietta McKervey was born in Belfast and now lives in Dublin.
She is the author of the acclaimed literary novels What Becomes of Us, The Heart of Everything and Violet Hill. At Rope's End is her fourth novel.
@hmckervey
www.henriettamckervey.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay