Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Heron Books
  • Heron Books
  • Heron Books

Keane's Charge

Iain Gale

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Captain James Keane, Fiction, Napoleonic War fiction, Napoleonic Wars

Keane and his men are sent into the midst of a war-torn city to recover a book of ciphers. But it's not straightforward - should they follow their own plans, mostly concentrated on finding Massena's gold, over Wellington's orders?

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. The third exciting adventure of maverick spy Captain James Keane. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

The intrepid band of warriors, led by Captain James Keane, have been given their toughest job yet. The Portuguese university city of Coimbra is in ruins. Infiltrating the streets are untrustworthy Spanish guerrilla fighters, local Portuguese out for revenge and rival spies determined to find the famous book of ciphers, hidden in the city and guarded by a dissident Jesuit group. James Keane and his men must prevent the book falling into enemy hands but also to discover which of the guerrilla groups can be trusted. But this means sometimes following their own instincts over Wellington's orders . . . can Keane capture the book without sacrificing his honour, position and reputation?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Keane's Charge

  • Richard Sharpe would be delighted to have James Keane on his side! Iain Gale's creation is a

  • wonderfully imaginative addition to the fascinating tales of Britain's defiance of Bonaparte - Bernard Cornwell

  • A cracking adventure story and a rattling good yarn - The Soldier

  • This exciting military adventure is ideal for any fans of Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe books - The Good Book Guide

Read More Read Less

Iain Gale

Iain Gale, art critic, journalist and author, comes from a military family and has always been fascinated by military history. He is an active member of the Scottish Committee of the Society of Authors and the Friends of Waterloo Committee. He is the Editor of Scotland in Trust, the magazine for the National Trust of Scotland, and founded the Caledonian magazine. He lives in Edinburgh.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay