Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Heron Books

The Keane Collection: Keane's Company, Challenge & Charge

Iain Gale

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Espionage & spy thriller, Historical adventure, War & combat fiction, Early modern history: c 1450/1500 to c 1700, Napoleonic Wars

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. All of James Keane in one thrilling collection. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

Book 1 - Keane's Company
James Keane - card sharp and ladies' man - is one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane - hot-tempered, a maverick, never quite accepted by his fellow officers - is in trouble for killing his man in a duel: an activity forbidden by Wellington. To avoid court martial, he takes on an unwelcome assignment: to form an ill-assorted bunch of reprobates into an elite unit capable of operating behind the lines. A nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen.

Book 2 - Keane's Challenge
French troops led by one of Napoleon's best generals are massing on the border. Wellington's outnumbered force needs to pick off the smaller French units if they are to stand their ground. For that they need information, which is where Captain Keane and his company of reformed scouting officers come in. But it soon becomes apparent that someone high up in Wellington's headquarters is a spy for the French...and Keane's enemies within the army are quick to point the finger. Keane must defend his crew against their accusers - or root out the traitor himself.

Book 3 - Keane's Charge
The intrepid band of warriors, led by Captain James Keane, have been given their toughest job yet. The Portuguese university city of Coimbra is in ruins. Infiltrating the streets are untrustworthy Spanish guerrilla fighters, local Portuguese out for revenge and rival spies determined to find the famous book of ciphers, hidden in the city and guarded by a dissident Jesuit group. James Keane and his men must prevent the book falling into enemy hands but also to discover which of the guerrilla groups can be trusted. But this means sometimes following their own instincts over Wellington's orders . . . can Keane capture the book without sacrificing his honour, position and repuatation?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Keane Collection: Keane's Company, Challenge & Charge

  • Richard Sharpe would be delighted to have James Keane on his side! Iain Gale's creation is a wonderfully imaginative addition to the fascinating tales of Britain's defiance of Bonaparte

  • Gale's prose is like a sand-blown lens from the front line

  • Captain James Keane is a worthy rival to Richard Sharpe

  • A gripping, engaging, fast-paced and colourful read. An absolute must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and A. L Berridge

Read More Read Less

Iain Gale

Iain Gale, art critic, journalist and author, comes from a military family and has always been fascinated by military history. He is an active member of the Scottish Committee of the Society of Authors and the Friends of Waterloo Committee. He is the Editor of Scotland in Trust, the magazine for the National Trust of Scotland, and founded the Caledonian magazine. He lives in Edinburgh.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay