Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion Children's Books

Where the Wilderness Lives

Jess Butterworth

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

An epic race for survival that follows four children and their dog through treacherous waterways, dense forests and deep, dark wilderness of Wales. From author Jess Butterworth come another beautifully written adventure story in a vibrantly described setting -- perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

Cara and her siblings live on a canal boat in Wales. One day, as they are fishing with magnets in a drained canal lock, trying to clean it up, they pull out a mysterious locked safe.

That night, a group of criminals come after the safe. The children flee, travelling with the boat as far as the canal goes before continuing into the forest on foot.

Will Cara and her siblings be able to survive in the mountains with no parents, pursuers hot on their tail, and nothing but their wits, their bravery and one very large dog to help?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Where the Wilderness Lives

  • PRAISE FOR RUNNING ON THE ROOF OF THE WORLD:

  • 'Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting - all the ingredients of a smashing adventure - Abi Elphinstone

  • A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people - Sarah Webb, Irish Independent

  • A wonderful story of courage and hope - Amy Wilson, author of A GIRL CALLED OWL

Read More Read Less

Jess Butterworth

Jess spent her childhood between the UK and India, and grew up hearing stories about the Himalayas from her grandmother. She's lived in India and even met with the Dalai Lama. She studied creative writing at Bath Spa and now lives between Louisiana and the UK.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay