Your cart


Total AUD



  • Piatkus

The Stone Chamber: Book 25 in the DI Wesley Peterson series

Kate Ellis

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

The gripping twenty-fifth mystery in the DI Wesley Peterson crime series set in Devon, by award-winning crime writer Kate Ellis.

'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The Times
On a summer evening, Robert and Greta Gerdner are shot dead at their home in the Devon countryside.

DI Wesley Peterson suspects the execution-style murders might be linked to Robert's past police career - until Robert's name is found on a list of people who've been sent tickets anonymously for a tour of Darkhole Grange, a former asylum on Dartmoor.

Wesley discovers that other names on the list have also died in mysterious circumstances and, as he is drawn into the chilling history of the asylum, he becomes convinced that it holds the key to the case.

When his friend, archaeologist Neil Watson, finds the skeleton of a woman buried in a sealed chamber dating back to the fifteenth century at his nearby dig, Wesley wonders whether there might be a connection between the ancient cell and the tragic events at Darkhole Grange.

With the clock ticking, Wesley must solve the puzzle, before the next person on the list meets a terrible end . . .

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering Kate Ellis's DI Wesley Peterson novels for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner if you love reading Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Stone Chamber: Book 25 in the DI Wesley Peterson series

  • Praise for Kate Ellis:

  • A beguiling author who interweaves past and present - The Times

  • Haunting - Independent

  • I loved this novel . . . a powerful story of loss, malice and deception

  • The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end - Closer

Read More Read Less

Kate Ellis

Kate Ellis was born and brought up in Liverpool and studied drama in Manchester. She is the award-winning author of the DI Wesley Peterson detective novels, as well as the Albert Lincoln trilogy and the Joe Plantagenet mysteries.

In 2019 Kate won the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for her crime writing. It was the second time she had been shortlisted for the award, and she has also twice been shortlisted for the CWA Short Story Dagger.

Visit her online at:

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay