Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion Children's Books
  • Orion Children's Books

Mariella Mystery: The Disappearing Dinner Lady: Book 7

Kate Pankhurst

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Mariella Mystery, For National Curriculum Key Stage 2, Interest age: from c 7 years, Fiction, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage), School stories (Children's / Teenage), Humour & jokes (Children's / Teenage)

Fans of Clarice Bean, Dork Diaries and Tom Gates will love this seventh title in the series about young detective Mariella Mystery - there's no mystery too mysterious, no problem too perplexing!

The seventh novel from the MacMillan Prize for Picture Book Illustration's winner Kate Pankhurst. The perfect book for 7-9 yr olds who love funny stories with quirky illustrations like DIARY OF A WIMPY KID, the DORK DIARIES and CLARICE BEAN.
Mariella Mystery (That's me!) - totally amazing girl detective, aged 9 and a bit. Able to solve the most mysterious mysteries and perplexing problems, even before breakfast.

After much a loved dinner lady, Diana Dumpling, vanishes from the school kitchens, Mariella and the Mystery Girls set out to investigate. They must find Diana and save their school dinners - but will they able to get to the bottom of this bizarre disappearance?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Mariella Mystery: The Disappearing Dinner Lady: Book 7

  • Pankhurst puts her own fun, tongue-in-cheek spin on the conventions of the detective story to create a lively and enjoyable story that young readers will find irresistible - BOOKTRUST on The Ghostly Guinea Pig

  • Wittily told in words and pictures, Mariella Mystery, a totally amazing nine-year-old detective, sets about following clues in an entertaining and action-packed adventure. No mystery is too complex for Mariella - LOVE READING4KIDS on The Ghostly Guinea Pig

  • THE GHOSTLY GUINEA PIG is ... fast-paced and humorous and keeps readers guessing right until the end - WONDROUS READS on The Ghostly Guinea Pig

  • Little girls will love this book - AMAZON

  • It was really good! It was a thrilling, exciting and tense novel! ... I will definitely recommend it to my friends ... The detective tips were very handy as you never know when you might need them. My favourite character is Mariella because she is cool, daring and prepared to disagree with her friends! - STORY STARS REVIEWERS

  • I liked it when I opened it and found out it was set out like a notebook. I loved all the little doodles ... I couldn't put the book down, I just kept reading and reading because it was funny and interesting and I wanted to solve the mystery. I wish I was a detective. I want to read more of Mariella's mysteries. I am going to tell all my friends about it. - STORY STARS REVIEWERS

  • When I was reading,

Read More Read Less

Kate Pankhurst

Since graduating from the University of Central Lancashire, Kate Pankhurst has worked as an illustrator. She works regularly in primary and secondary schools running sessions linked to illustration and writing and as part of Creatives, a company specialising in high quality arts experiences for children and young people. Kate has previously illustrated both picture books and fiction for a variety of publishers. Kate was the recipient of the MACMILLAN PRIZE FOR PICTURE BOOK ILLUSTRATION in 2002. Kate lives and works in Leeds.

Visit her website http://www.katepankhurst.com/ and follow her on Twitter @KateisDrawing

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay