Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia

The Things We Cannot Say

Kelly Rimmer

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A searing page-turner of family secrets and the legacy of war by the Top 10 bestselling Australian author of BEFORE I LET YOU GO

2019
Life changed beyond recognition for Alice when her son, Eddie, was born with autism spectrum disorder. She must do everything to support him, but at what cost to her family? When her cherished grandmother is hospitalised, a hidden box of mementoes reveals a tattered photo of a young man, a tiny leather shoe and a letter. Her grandmother begs Alice to return to Poland to see what became of those she held dearest.

WWII Alina and Tomasz are childhood sweethearts. The night before he leaves for college, Tomasz proposes marriage. But when their village falls to the Nazis, Alina doesn't know if Tomasz is alive or dead.

2019 In Poland, separated from her family, Alice begins to uncover the story her grandmother is so desperate to tell, and discovers a love that bloomed in the winter of 1942. As a painful family history comes to light, will the struggles of the past and present finally reach a heartbreaking resolution?

Inspired by the author's own family history, The Things We Cannot Say unearths a tragic love story and a family secret whose far-reaching effects will alter lives forever.

'Kelly Rimmer has raised the already-high bar with this unforgettable novel, The Things We Cannot Say. Alina and Tomasz's story is one of bravery, resilience, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author' Sally Hepworth, author of The Secrets of Midwives

'The Things We Cannot Say is such an emotional and powerful read that I found it almost impossible to put down. I was riveted, and will be recommending this book to everyone I know' Lisa Ireland, author of The Shape of Us

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Things We Cannot Say

  • A heartbreaking story about families and how far they will go to save the ones they love. Kelly Rimmer's characters are captivating - Daily Telegraph on BEFORE I LET YOU GO

  • Kelly Rimmer writes with wisdom and compassion ... this is a novel about the deepest love possible - Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author on BEFORE I LET YOU GO

  • Bestselling Australian author Kelly Rimmer serves up a heart-pounding dilemma for fans of Jodi Picoult - Marie Claire on BEFORE I LET YOU GO

  • Kelly Rimmer tears at the heartstrings - Herald Sun on BEFORE I LET YOU GO

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Forbes Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Orange City Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Dubbo Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Narromine Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer High Tea at Better Read Than Dead

Right
Left
loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Forbes Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Orange City Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Dubbo Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer - Wild West Women Writers Book Tour at Narromine Library

loading...

Kelly Rimmer High Tea at Better Read Than Dead

Right

Kelly Rimmer

Kelly Rimmer has sold over 600,000 digital copies of her previous four novels: ME WITHOUT YOU, THE SECRET DAUGHTER, WHEN I LOST YOU and A MOTHER'S CONFESSION. BEFORE I LET YOU GO was Kelly's first novel with Hachette Australia and was a Top 10 bestseller. Kelly lives in rural NSW with her husband, two children and fantastically naughty dogs, Sully and Basil. Her novels have been translated into more than 20 languages.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay