Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Science fiction

Action-orientated space opera with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, from the author of Seeds of Earth - perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or Farscape

Action-orientated space opera with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or Farscape For Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes.

Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Splintered Suns

  • Proper galaxy-spanning space opera

  • Hugely enjoyable . . . an absolute cracker of a space opera

  • Cobley excels at presenting his thoroughly lived-in future with a slew of technological marvels and an engaging cast of characters

  • A very entertaining read . . . the series as a whole possesses tremendous potential

  • The sort of thing that space opera readers love. We've got spaceships and a broad history, shown through the viewpoints of multi-person perspectives, linked together in a way that Heinlein would've been proud of

Read More Read Less