Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

We can’t help it, we are already excited for the absolutely brilliant list of YA books coming in 2019! Here are some of the books we can’t wait to get our hands on.

(source: giphy)

Stay updated by following Date A Book on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

  • The Girl King - Mimi Yu

    (JAN) Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal. 2019 is officially the year of #OwnVoices YA as far as we are concerned and what better way to kick of the celebrations with this incredible story of two sisters fighting it out for a crown that was taken away from them and given to their male cousin. With magic, shape-shifting werewolves, and a feminist zeal, badass doesn’t even begin to cover it.

  • King of Scars - Leigh Bardugo

    (FEB) What do we want? More Grishaverse! Thankfully, Leigh Bardugo is giving it to us with this much-anticipated first book in a brand-new duology. The gorgeous cover alone makes us want to read this immediately!

  • Heartstopper Vol. 1 - Alice Oseman

    (FEB) Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBT graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - for fans of Love, Simon. This is honestly one of the sweetest stories we have ever read and we love that it comes to us as a graphic novel. And because it is only volume one, we can be sure of more cuteness to come!

  • Izzy and Tristan - Shannon Dunlap

    (MARCH) This isn't a story about anything new. It's about the oldest thing in the world. It's about love. We love a good legend come to life and this is a beautiful modernisation of Tristan & Iseult. A love story for the ages - and a love story for this very moment.

  • The Everlasting Rose - Dhonielle Clayton

    (MARCH) With a price on her head, the evil Queen Sophia out for blood, and no idea who to trust, Camellia must race against time to find the ailing Princess Charlotte, who has disappeared without a trace. We LOVED The Belles and can’t wait for this dazzling sequel to hit. A bit of #OwnVoices YA with a killer female lead? Yes please!

  • Finale - Stephanie Garber

    (MAY) Bestselling author Stephanie Garber takes us once again to the magical world of Caraval, where Scarlett and Tella Dragna must fight for their happy endings after a tragedy sends Tella on a treacherous path for revenge. . . The Caraval series has enthralled us from the first page and now we can’t wait to see how it ends!

  • Nocturna - Maya Motayne

    (MAY) Fates collide and darkness is unleashed in this lush Latin-inspired fantasy, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and V. E. Schwab. 2019 is really shaping up to be the year of diverse voices in YA, and Noturna sits firmly in our list of must reads for its Latin influenced fantasy. We can’t wait to read it!

  • Queen of Ruin - Tracy Banghart

    (JULY) The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection. Grace and Fury has easily been one of our top picks of 2018 and we simply cannot wait to get our hands on the next one. Honestly, if we don’t copies soon, we might have an uprising on our hands.

  • All That Impossible Space - Anna Morgan

    (AUG) Interspersed with fictionalised snapshots of the Somerton Man investigation, this is a coming of age novel exploring toxic friendships and the balance of power between teacher and student, perfect for fans of Cath Crowley and Fiona Wood. #LoveOzYA is something we feel particularly passionate about, and so we can’t wait for this incredible novel from Anna.

  • Monuments - Will Kostakis

    (SEPT) What if teens ran the world? In this first book in an exciting new duology from YA star, Will Kostakis, three teens inherit the powers of creator gods. A parable for youth powerlessness that explores how the world might look if teens suddenly had the ability to reshape it. Okay, what is #LoveOzYA without a bit of Will Kostakis? We love Will and this brilliant first book in the Monument series is bound to keep you up all night reading.

Hayley New

Hayley New

National Accounts & Field Sales Coordinator at Hachette Australia. Often caught with a good book hangover, a large cup of tea in my Chip mug, or snuggling with my dogs. YA is my bag, but I also speak fluent feminist and will read anything with a kickass female lead.

Related news

loading...

Halloween YA Thrillers

A perfect list of YA thrillers to get the goosebumps going this Halloween.

loading...

Our Fave Own Voices YA

We love #OwnVoices YA, and we know you do too. Here are some of our favourites if you are looking for more to fill your bookshelf.

loading...

What to Read If You're Obsessed with To All the Boys I've Loved Before

Woah, woah, woah! We heard that you're just as obsessed with To All the Boys I've Loved Before as we are. We have some cute contemporary romances for you...

loading...

Iskari Universe Cheat Sheet

Want to know the difference between an Iskari and Namsara? Author Kristen Ciccarelli has your ultimate cheat sheet to the Iskari Universe!

loading...

A Day in the Life: Kristen Ciccarelli

Kristen Ciccarelli, author of THE LAST NAMSARA, gives us a look at a writer's life through pictures! Spoilers: cute doggos ahead.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay