Your cart


Total AUD



  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

Gardens of the Sun

Paul McAuley

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Science fiction

'A writer of dazzling range, luminous intelligence and great humanity.' - Alastair Reynolds.

The Quiet War is over. The city states of the moons of Jupiter and Saturn have fallen to the Three Powers Alliance of Greater Brazil, the European Union and the Pacific Community. A century of enlightenment, rational utopianism and exploration of new ways of being human has fallen dark. Outers are herded into prison camps and forced to collaborate in the systematic plundering of their great archives of scientific and technical knowledge, while Earth's forces loot their cities, settlements and ships, and plan a final solution to the 'Outer problem'.

But Earth's victory is fragile, and riven by vicious internal politics. While seeking out and trying to anatomise the strange gardens abandoned in place by Avernus, the Outers' greatest genius, the gene wizard Sri Hong-Owen is embroiled in the plots and counterplots of the family that employs her. The diplomat Loc Ifrahim soon discovers that profiting from victory isn't as easy as he thought.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Gardens of the Sun

  • THE QUIET WAR is a deft fusion of modern-as-tomorrow hard SF space opera, slam-bang thriller (with cutting-edge science and some breathlessly cool action sequences) and a superbly intelligent and timely examination of society sliding over the brink into war. Heroes and villains aplenty populate this teeming, multifaceted novel, and in Macy Minnot - a small fish caught up in the flow of massive, world-shaking events - McAuley gives us his most engaging and likable heroine to date. Great book! - Alastair Reynolds

Read More Read Less

Paul McAuley

Paul McAuley (Born 1955)
Paul James McAuley was born in Gloucestershire on St George's Day, 1955. He has a Ph.D in Botany and worked as a researcher in biology at various universities, including Oxford and UCLA, and for six years was a lecturer in botany at St Andrews University, before leaving academia to write full time. He started publishing science fiction with the short story "Wagon, Passing" for Asimov's Science Fiction in 1984. His first novel, 400 Billion Stars won the Philip K. Dick Award in 1988, and 1995's Fairyland won the Arthur C. Clarke and John W. Campbell Awards. He has also won the British Fantasy, Sidewise and Theodore Sturgeon Awards. He lives in London.

You can find his blog at:

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay