Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orchard Books
  • Orion Children's Books
  • Orchard Books

A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Interest age: from c 9 years, Fiction, Wrestling, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

Gallery

Brand-new middle-grade novel from CARNEGIE MEDAL-longlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by WATERSTONE'S CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, DEMOLITION DAD is a hilarious, warm story about family, friends and wrestling - perfect for fans of David Walliams.

CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017

Perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this is a hilarious and warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling by multi-award-shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by award-winning artist, Sara Ogilvie.

This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers! He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected ...

Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers of 9-11, DEMOLITION DAD is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a book bursting with humour and heart. Perfect for Father's Day this June!

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad

  • A war story, a love story, a wonderfully real story

  • Phil Earle is capable of portraying the teenage world with such sensitivity and power that he should be a must-read author for today's young adults - DAILY TELEGRAPH on Saving Daisy

  • A book that will move you as well as make you laugh - THE BOOKBAG on The Bubble-Wrap Boy

  • Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) - Liz Pichon

Read More Read Less

Phil Earle

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In 2016, Phil was appointed as Reading charity BookTrust's new writer-in-residence. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus. Visit Phil's website, www.philearle.com, or follow him on twitter @philearle.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay