Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Food of Love: an emotional postwar family saga

Prue Leith

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Epic multi-generational family saga by the judge of Great British Bake Off. Formerly entitled The Food of Love.

Epic multi-generational family saga from household name Prue Leith, perfect for fans of Penny Vincenzi and Barbara Taylor Bradford.

A proud family. Snubbed by aristocratic neighbour Lord Frampton at a coming-of-age ball, Donald Oliver dreams of the day he'll have his vengeance.

A wild daughter. Laura Oliver, beautiful and tempestuous, falls in love with Giovanni, an Italian ex-prisoner-of-war, now a humble cook. Disdaining her father's snobbishness - and his wrath - the couple flee to London.

A desperate hope. Giovanni and Laura arrive to a city that has not yet re-awoken after the traumas of war. Facing destitution, only their love for one another and their dream of opening a restaurant business keeps them going.

From Cotswolds farmland to London fish markets, society ballrooms to icy gutters, this is a tale of prejudice and ambition, power and passion, and one couple's struggle to overcome all obstacles and carve out a life of their own.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Food of Love: an emotional postwar family saga

  • A book not to miss . . . an uplifting tribute to female friendship - Good Housekeeping

  • Leith's subtle characterizations never sound a wrong note . . . a satisfying and illuminating read - Daily Telegraph

  • Prue Leith, as well as being a brilliant cook and business woman, is also a highly accomplished novelist - Sue McGregor

  • A delicious family saga - Daily Mail

Read More Read Less

Prue Leith

As a cook, restaurateur, food writer and business woman, Prue Leith has played a key role in the revolution of Britain's eating habits since the 1960s. She is a judge on Channel 4's Great British Bake Off. After a long break from food writing, Prue has returned to writing cookery books alongside her fiction. She is the author of seven romantic novels as well as a memoir, Relish. All Prue's fiction and her memoir are in print with Quercus. She lives in Oxfordshre. Follow her on on Twitter @PrueLeith

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay