Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion

The Bungalow

Sarah Jio

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A timeless story of enduring passion from the author of Blackberry Winter and The Violets of March, The Bungalow chronicles Anne's determination to discover the truth about the twin losses--of life, and of love--that have haunted her for seventy years.

A sweeping World War II saga of thwarted love, murder, and a long-lost painting.

In the summer of 1942, twenty-one-year-old Anne Calloway sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora-Bora. Exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry. As their friendship blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island, the two share a private world under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow making promises about after. But then they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll they built together vanishes into the winds of war.

Seventy years later, Anne still cannot let go of that long-ago summer and the twin losses of her life. Is it finally time to uncover the truth or will she continue to be haunted by what she lost?

A timeless story of enduring passion and determination to discover the truth decades later. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Barbara O'Neal and Amanda Prowse.

Read More Read Less

Sarah Jio

Sarah Jio is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of eight novels. She is also a journalist who has written for Glamour, O The Oprah Magazine, Redbook, Real Simple and many other publications. Jio's novels have become book club favourites and have been published in over twenty-five countries and in over twenty languages. She lives in Seattle with her three sons. You can learn more about her at: sarahjio.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay