Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton: Alexander Seaton 1: Top notch historical thriller by the author of the acclaimed Seeker series

S.G. MacLean

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Alexander Seaton, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical mysteries

A sleuth to rival Shardlake or Cadfael - a mystery that will chill your blood. A must-read for fans of Rory Clements and SJ Parris.

'A satisfying, skillfully constructed mystery with richly developed characters ... A truly memorable and exciting read' Historical Novel Society

Banff, Scotland, the 1620s. A young man walks unsteadily through the streets. Is he just drunk or is there something more sinister happening? When he collapses in front of two sisters on that dark, wet night, the women guess that he's been poisoned.

His body is discovered in the house of Alexander Seaton - a fallen minister, the discovery of whose clandestine love affair has left him disgraced.

Why was the body in Seaton's house? And why would anyone want to murder this likeable young man? Seaton sets out to find answers, embarking on a journey not only through the darkest part of other men's souls, but also his own.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Redemption of Alexander Seaton: Alexander Seaton 1: Top notch historical thriller by the author of the acclaimed Seeker series

  • An astonishingly accomplished first novel. A fine, rich, beautiful thriller that never loses sight of the heights to which the human soul can soar, even while it explores the depths to which envy, jealousy, hatred and greed can take it. A delight on all levels, literate, engaging and moving - Manda Scott

  • A rare accomplishment. It is what a period novel should be but rarely is ... transports you body and soul to another time and place. Read this on a beach in the Med and you'll still feel the chill bite of a North Sea wind blowing up a cobbled 17th century alleyway - Craig Russell

  • This engrossing, atmospheric novel is not just a satisfying, skilfully constructed mystery with richly developed characters. It is also the vivid evocation of a particular time and place by an author who is herself a historian specializing in 16th and 17th century Scotland. She has used her gifts to the full to create a truly memorable and exciting read - Historical Novels Review

Read More Read Less

S.G. MacLean

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Scottish history. She has written four highly acclaimed historical thrillers set in Scotland, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton (shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger), A Game of Sorrows, Crucible of Secrets and The Devil's Recruit, and a series of historical thrillers set in Oliver Cromwell's London. The first and third books in the series, The Seeker and Destroying Angel, have won the CWA Historical Dagger and the second, The Black Friar, was longlisted for the same award. S.G. MacLean is married with four children and lives in Conon Bridge, Scotland. Follow her on Instagram @iwritemybike2

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay